Delightful Welcome

SI8414 Delightful Welcome step 1

Next week Jack and I are going to be doing a demonstration and talk at a Motorhome Rally in Kerrville. Long time friends and collectors of ours are the co-chairs of the event. The other couple in charge are also Team Senkarik Members. This is going to be lots of fun. They’ve asked me to do a few pieces we can offer for sale at the Hill Country Happening. Since many of those attending live full time in their coaches the paintings need to be small. The Ampersand, self-framed panels that I like to use will be perfect, this one is 10 inches by 10 inches.

SI8414 Delightful Welcome step 3

I just have to do something with my signature “Red Door and Sunflowers”, people seem to love this combination. After blocking in the walls and rock planter the door is painted. Cadmium Red Deep + Magenta is used for the shadow while pure Cadmium Red Light makes the sunlit portion.

SI8414 Delightful Welcome step 5

Large teal ceramic containers contrast nicely with the door. They are made of mixtures in various proportions of Pthalo Blue + Cadmium Orange + White. Then my attention turns to the floor.

SI8414 Delightful Welcome step 7

Perspective lines of the tiles are drawn directly into the thick paint of the floor with a fine liner brush dipped in a thin mix of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. Please remember, you can click on any of the pictures to enlarge them.

SI8414 Delightful Welcome step 8

After the horizontal lines delineating the individual tiles are complete I start on the Trumpet Vine cascading down the adobe wall.

SI8414 Delightful Welcome step 9

The mass of red-orange flowers is done first. Then the greens of the leaves are worked around the blossoms, helping to shape them.

SI8414 Delightful Welcome step 10

The cheerful Sunflowers are painted in the same sequence: Flowers First, Leaves Last.

SI8414 Delightful Welcome step 11

Large dark centers accentuate the sunny faces of these happy flowers. I was once asked what kind of flower would I like to be? Without a pause I answered immediately, “A Sunflower of course! They are very determined, will grow anywhere and are always cheery.”

SI8414 Delightful Welcome step 13

And talk about cheery…….What do you think about this cute little gecko? My wrist is braced on a mahl stick in order to steady my hand as I indicate the fine detail. To find out more about my mahl stick CLICK HERE.

SI8414 Delightful Welcome 10x10Delightful Welcome     10 inches by 10 inches   Original Oil Painting

He’s ready to extend a Delightful Welcome to all! I’ve enjoyed having you follow along today. If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

4 Responses to “Delightful Welcome”

  1. joannecali Says:

    so beautiful and cheerful, as are all your paintings. the beauty astounds me, and the scene is so cheer ful – and the gecko, delightful, part in sun, part in shadow.

  2. Diane Says:

    Another lovely painting.Am going to try this one! I have done realistic oil painting and when trying impressionistic I have trouble with wet on wet…any advice?

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Diane, Just play with the technique, it takes some practice. Make sure you clean your brush before you load it with paint. Also try applying the color by laying it on top of the underlying paint. This way you don’t pick up any of the color underneath. HAPPY PAINTING! Mikki

  3. Diane Says:

    Thank you so much…will start practicing.

Leave a Reply

