Spicy Shadows

SJ8714 Spicy Shadows step 1

I have a question for all of you. One of our followers said she is getting the emails but no pictures show up. I don’t have any idea what the problem is. Has anyone else had this happen?

OK, let’s get to work on my last little piece for the Motorcoach Event next week. Jack and I thought a courtyard gate with a chili ristra would be fun.

SJ8714 Spicy Shadows step 2

The color of objects influences their surroundings. The red of the Ristra is reflected into the shadow. So I drag a little Alizarin Crimson into the wet paint of the shadow cast on the wall.

SJ8714 Spicy Shadows step 3

The gate is painted with light and dark shades of Ultramarine Blue + White. If you’d like to see this or any of the other pictures larger just click on the image.

SJ8714 Spicy Shadows step 5

Morning Glories cascade over the garden wall. The flowers of the white Matilija Poppies are blocked in with various mixes of Dioxazine Purple + White, Pthalo Blue + White and Pthalo Blue + a touch of Lemon Yellow + White.

SJ8714 Spicy Shadows step 6

The foliage is painted around the masses of blossom color. Then the centers are added. Can you see why the Matilija Poppy is sometimes called the “Fried Egg Flower”?

SJ8714 Spicy Shadows 6x6Spicy Shadows   6 inches x 6 inches   Original Oil Painting

Luscious Petunias are planted in the terra cotta containers and Cadmium Red Light highlights the chili peppers that cast Spicy Shadows across the bright blue gate. Have a Happy Day! Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

18 Responses to “Spicy Shadows”

  1. Kim Weber Says:

    I can see all your photos of paintings fine! And thank you

  2. philcullendeecullen Says:

    Love it!!! So very pretty. No problems with photos! Hugs

  3. sotxgrannie Says:

    Duh! … that’s always been my problem — until a few weeks ago, I discovered that my email has a built-in protector. It does not download pictures unless you click on a button that says DOWNLOAD PICTURES. 🙂

  4. sarah.bottjer@tiscali.co.uk Says:

    Hi Mikki, Just to tell you that I have received the photos of your paintings OK! Each one is beautiful! You are very talented and I always look forward to receiving your e mails with news of the latest painting that you are working on. I also like to read Jack’s blog on the FASO web site, they are the best 🙂 Best wishes Sarah Bottjer Sent from my iPad

    >

  5. April Bending Says:

    When I can’t see pictures I get a message that my “pop-up-blocker” :is on and should be turned off. I think it is part of the anti virus package (like Norton or Symantec)

  6. Stevie Denny Says:

    It could be the type of device she’s using, but she shoud check the settings on that device to make sure it will show pictures. If she has a slow or weak Internet connection, that could be another reason the photos aren’t downloading.

  7. Ogi Says:

    Hello, Mikki! Beautiful painting! Greetings! =D

  8. Angeline Says:

    I have yet to see a photo of your palette….would that be possible? I would be interesting to see the various colors in ‘action’ on your palette. Thanks.

  9. Sarfaraz Najmi Says:

    Hi there, I been following your paintings n your emails for quite a bit time. I luv ur style and i try to follow. As i am not doing painting for a very long time and i just learn it from you tube or from ur tutorials. I have a commitment with myself that painting is not my profession (currently as i m a geologist) so whatever i will sell i will give that money to charity. I found the most difficult thing for me is color mixing. How to create shadows and dark n light shades properly. Can you kindly help me in this, please.

    Also you discussed problem of a follower unable to see attached pix, i never found any difficulty in attached pix in your email.

    I have read your story as well, really hats off to you. You are a very brave person and i really admire your positive approach in life. God bless you always and give you strength to spread your good work.

    Best Regards,

    Najmi

    >

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Najmi, Thank you for your kind comments. As you follow my blog I give the color recipes to help you mix color. Please feel free to ask questions if there is a color you’d like me to help you with. My best advice is to just play with mixing paint. Get a pack of 4 x 5 inch index cards. When you mix a color you like put a dab on a card along with your “Recipe”, or the colors you used to mix it with. That way when you want to make a certain hue you’ll know how you made it! HAPPY PAINTING! Mikki

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Najmi, I forgot to attach a link to our Double Primary Color Mixing System. I think you will find this helpful.
      https://mikkisenkarik.wordpress.com/2012/09/02/our-color-mixing-system/
      Hugs, Mikki

  10. dawnblair Says:

    Also could be a setting in her email — it might be set to receive text only which will not bring in pictures. Most email settings also have the option of receiving HTML emails, which will download the pictures. Does she get pictures in other emails?

  11. dawnblair Says:

    Silly question and I’m hoping you haven’t answered it a million times already– why do you paint the red chilies on the wall first? It would seem to me that it’d be harder to paint the wall around those and that you’d want to do the wall first, then pull the red paint over the wall for the chili.

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Dawn,
      Actually I wash the chilis in with Alizarin Crimson first when I sketch up the painting. After it’s dry I like to paint around the washed in red to help shape the individual peppers. Then I come back later and add the highlights to the peppers. Thanks for your help on the image problem 🙂
      Hugs, Mikki

  12. Renuka Pillai Says:

    Yes, I thought she would have to click the address bar to download pictures, I do that myself

Leave a Reply

