From Paper to Canvas

SJ8914 Step 8

Here’s my pen and ink sketch for our collaboration. We’re including Denise and Phil’s “Fur Babies” in the painting!

SJ8914 Step 9

To make the transition from the drawing in my sketchbook to the canvas I’ll use an oil wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. That’s the small brownish blob to the left of the paint mix! It’s an alkyd based product that makes the oil paint dry faster.

SJ8914 Step 10

Dipping my brush in the oil wash mixture I begin drawing the Southwestern architecture of the building up on the canvas.

SJ8914 Step 11

The Wisteria dripping over the building and gate is lightly indicated.

SJ8914 Step 12

Now the landscape forms in the background are drawn in.

SJ8914 Step 13

The chili rista is washed in with Alizarin Crimson and Magenta. If you’d like to see this or any of the other images enlarged just click on them. The plants are labeled so I don’t forget what our original plan was 🙂

SJ8914 Step 14

Now for “Baby”, Denise and Phil’s Maine Coon Cat. I block in her shape, nestled on the ledge of the fountain.

SJ8914 Step 15

“Rumsfeld” and “Gragson” are now added. I don’t worry about doing any detail on them at this point. I just want to make sure their sizes and silhouettes correct. If you have any questions please feel free to ask. Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

7 Responses to “From Paper to Canvas”

  1. Frances Buckmaster Says:

    I enjoy your business model very much and also find many other very practical ideas for an artist on your blog!!! Thanks. I’m sure my questions have been asked before…but I don’t know how to find your response. When transferring your ink drawing to the larger canvas, how do you achieve your straight lines for architectural features? Also, how do you achieve the curves of arches? Thanks!

  2. philcullendeecullen Says:

    We are so excited! You are capturing our fur kids purrfectly! Hugs

Leave a Reply

