Wisteria!

SJ8914 Step 21

But before we get to the Wisteria we have to make the roof for it to cascade over! My mixes for the terra-cotta roof tiles are as follows. Mixtures #1 and #2. Different proportions of Cadmium Orange + MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) #3. Pthalo Blue + Cadmium Orange + White. #4 and #5. Different proportions of Cadmium Orange + MUD + a little Pthalo Blue + White.

SJ8914 Step 22

The terra-cotta colors are scumbled together on the roof. Then I come back with my large Bright (square) brush and make the textured highlights on the individual tiles. A few strokes of Ultramarine Blue + White are added at the far edge of the roof to make it recede.

SJ8914 Step 23

The walls are constructed and I’ve already blocked in the Wisteria on the roof. I got so involved in painting I forgot to stop and take a progress photo, OPPPS 🙂 The twisted trunk of the vine is drawn into the wet paint of the adobe with a mix of MUD + Liquin.

SJ8914 Step 24

So here we go. The blossom color of the Wisteria is painted first. I use mixtures in various proportions of Dioxazine Purple + White and Dioxazine Purple + Ultramarine Blue + White.

SJ8914 Step 25

Next I paint the foliage around the masses of purple, shaping the draping blooms. I follow this sequence, FLOWERS FIRST, LEAVES LAST on most flowering plants. Painting the blossoms first keeps the color crisp and clean. If the leaves were done first my brush would pick up some of the green as I paint the flowers, muddying their color.

SJ8914 Step 26

The final touch is to indicate some of the individual Wisteria petals. The paint is gently “Laid” on top of the underlying color so I don’t pick up any on my brush.

SJ8914 Step 27

Our wispy wisteria is complete! If you’d like to see the image enlarged just click on the image. Thank you for following along today. Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

2 Responses to “Wisteria!”

  1. Diane Says:

    Love this painting especially the beautiful mauve wisteria overhanging the arch (I have one in my garden) and placing your pets in the painting is a fantastic idea!

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Good Morning Diane,
      Thank you so much for your nice comment. This is a commission and the “Fur Babies” are my client’s! I think they came up with a wonderful idea. It makes the painting so personal for them. Have a super day. Hugs, Mikki

Leave a Reply

