Back to the Beautiful Napa Valley

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today we’re headed to the Wine Country of California. Our collector saw Warmed by the Sun, shown above, and commissioned a similar painting for her home.

SK9114 Step 1

Dayna would like some different flowers and needs the piece to not be as long as Warmed by the Sun. So I’ve made a sketch to show the changes in format, one of the arches in the background was removed in order to shorten the composition.

SK9114 Step 2

The basic design is sketched up on the canvas with a brush dipped in a thin oil wash made of Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson + Liquin. I begin with the building on the right and the water fountain in the foreground.

SK9114 Step 3

Next the architecture in the background is drawn. Please remember as you go through the blog, you can enlarge any of the pictures by clicking on the image.

SK9114 Step 4

The skeleton of the painting is complete. I’ve labeled the flowers so I’ll remember the ideas Dayna and I discussed. Sometimes when I get into the excitement of painting I forget where I am. This helps to keep me on the right road to where we’re going! If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

Leave a Reply

