Wandering Wisteria

SK9114 Step 17

I love Wisteria and it seems my collectors do too! Several of my most recent commissions have included this wonderfully wispy vine. The blossoms are blocked in with mixes of Dioxazine Purple + Ultramarine Blue + White and Dioxazine Purple + White. I’ve just started adding the Ultramarine Blue mixture, it makes a very cool purple that helps give the feeling of depth in the vine.

SK9114 Step 18

After the mass of flowers are painted the greens of the leaves are worked around the purples, helping to shape the dangling blossoms. Twisted trunks and tendrils add anatomical authenticity to the vine. OOPPPS, I think my training as a Medical Illustrator is showing 🙂 As you read through my blog please keep in mind, you can enlarge the images by clicking on the pictures.

SK9114 Step 19

I pull out the mahl stick to steady my hand as I paint the door and window hidden away on the upper floor of the distant building.

SK9114 Step 20

Now I come back in and highlight the individual petals of the Wisteria blossoms.

SK9114 Step 21

Moving forward, work begins on the roof of the building on the right. Mixtures left over from the terra-cotta tiles in the background are used here. The Bougainvillea cascading over the roof is painted with various mixes of Permanent Rose + White. I want to get this in while the sky is still wet. Painting wet-into-wet makes it much easier to pull the fine lines of its long arms. That’s all for today! Hope to see you again soon. Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

2 Responses to “Wandering Wisteria”

  1. joannecali Says:

    So absolutely beautiful, Mikki. I love your painting(s)!

  2. hayriye Says:

    I love your paintings very much Mikki

Leave a Reply

