A Fun Gift

 

SJ8914 Is That the Dinner Bell 30x36

I recently completed a commission called “Is That the Dinner Bell?”  My clients loved the piece so you can imagine my surprise when I received a call from Denise. She started out, “I have a real issue with the painting…..” My heart sank. Then Denise continued, “We have a dear friend who loves our ‘Fur Babies’ and the painting. Could you do something with Baby, Rumsfeld and Gragson for her as a Christmas present?”

SL9614 Jewelry Box step 1

We discussed a few different ideas, then Denise asked, “what about a Jewelry Box like you auctioned at your Collector Event last year?” PERFECT! We decided to paint all three babies on the top surrounded by flowers. I love collaborating with our collectors, they have such wonderful ideas. The bottom of the box is coated with black acrylic, the other sides are primed with white acrylic. I also paint a square of white acrylic on the inside of the top. This is where I’ll put the title, our code number of authenticity and a personalization for the recipient. Using blue painter’s tape the facing edges of the top and bottom are covered. Also the bottom of the box is taped off to keep it clean when the sides are painted.

SL9614 Jewelry Box step 3

The original painting serves as reference for the animals. I just enlarge the section with the three, print it out and tape it to the easel. A light pencil sketch is first made on the lid. Then bracing my wrist on the mahl stick to steady my hand I begin drawing the babies with a brush dipped in a thin oil wash of Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson + Liquin.

SL9614 Jewelry Box step 4

The dogs’ red kerchiefs are washed in with pure Alizarin Crimson + Liquin. Don’t forget, as you go through my post you can enlarge any of the pictures by clicking on the images.

SL9614 Jewelry Box step 5

I wash the sides of the box bottom with thin coats of Pthalo Blue + Liquin and Viridian Green + Liquin. I just scumble this on randomly, my main purpose is to cover the white. By using the Liquin washes the sides will be dry to touch in the next session. The fronts of the yellow boxes holding the top and bottom are marked with a piece of blue tape. This helps me to keep them oriented correctly.

SL9614 Jewelry Box step 6

The same washes are used on the top to develop the background. The flower area is completely washed in, continuing the design over the sides. That’s it for today, we’ll let the box dry overnight and continue tomorrow. Hope to see you then. If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

 

Leave a Reply

