The Taos Mission

Sketch Monica and Myron Smith

We’re going to Taos, New Mexico today! My next collaboration is of the beautiful and historic San Francisco de Asis Mission. A sketch is first made for the client’s approval.

SL9714 Step 1

The painting is framed in our Senkarik Signature frame. The white nearest the image is masked off with blue painter’s tape. This will be pulled away when the piece is finished, leaving a straight, clean edge. The Mission is the main focal point so I begin drawing the Southwest architecture with a brush dipped in a thin oil wash of Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson + Liquin.

SL9714 Step 2

The entire area of the window above the door is washed in with mixes of Ultramarine Blue + Liquin and Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson + Liquin. I’ll come back later when that is completely dry to add the frame and window panes.

SL9714 Step 3

Now the Mission is drawn I start on the foreground elements. A rectangle is made on the floor surface to determine the placement of the upright posts of the bench. Please remember, you can enlarge this or any of the other images to see them better.

SL9714 Step 4

Bracing my wrist on a mahl stick to steady my hand I sketch the statue of St. Francis located in front of the Mission.

SL9714 Step 5

The oil wash is complete. I’ll make a few adjustments while painting but this drawing gives me a basic “Road Map” to follow as I work. If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

Leave a Reply

