A Quiet Courtyard

Before we get started today I want to let you know my website has been updated. We’ve added LOTS of new paintings and more images to the Photo Journal so please go take a LOOK!

Just CLICK HERE to go to Senkarik.com

SB0615 Step 1

I’m beginning another piece for our gallery in Playa del Carmen, a quiet courtyard filled with flowers. Let’s start by sketching my basic plan up on the canvas with a brush dipped in a thin oil wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. As you read through my blog please remember, you can click on any of the images to see them larger.

SB0615 Step 2

My “roadmap” is complete. I label the flowers so I remember my initial ideas. One I get to slapping paint around on the canvas I sometimes forget the direction I originally wanted to go 🙂

SB0615 Step 3

Building a courtyard on canvas is much like constructing a building in real life, we must have the structure in place before planting begins. The old stone walls are made of various combinations of Ultramarine Blue + Cadmium Orange + MUD + White. Isn’t it amazing the variety of hues you can get with limited colors? The farthest part of the wall in the corner is dragged with a little Ultramarine Blue + White. I’ve also done the same on the back edge of the arch. This cools those areas, making them “Fall Back”.

SB0615 Step 4

The main walls are done. The trunks of the Trumpet Vine are pulled into the wet paint while it’s still pliable. Hope you’ll come back soon and see how this progresses. If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

AND….Jack’s newest article has just been published at Fine Art Studio Online. CLICK HERE to read Describe Yourself.

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

2 Responses to “A Quiet Courtyard”

  1. artistonthehill Says:

    Hi Mikki, I have become a fan of your artwork and I have enjoyed reading Jack’s articles for a couple of years. I appreciate the way you both share so much. I will be 70 this year and have been in the art business for 35 years. Most of my income has come from teaching my skills to students ages 9 to 90. My goal is to paint more of what I enjoy this year and increase my art sales. I am stepping back from the frequent classes. It is time for a new chapter in my life. I will be following both of you. (No, I am Not a stalker. lol) Have a Blessed day.

    Karen Lucas Art & Frame 253-847-0858 karenlucasart@yahoo.com

    253-847-0858

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Karen,
      Congratulations on being so successful in the art business for so many years. I’m glad you’re stalking (OPPPS!) following Jack and I 🙂 Have fun beginning again and painting what touches your soul. we appreciate you. Lots of Hugs, Mikki

Leave a Reply

