Something Special for Our Readers

SB0715 Step 4

I’ve decided to make the window partially open. It seems much more inviting to the viewer. As you read through my post please keep in mind, you can enlarge any of the pictures by clicking on them.

SB0715 Step 5

Several mixtures of MUD + Cadmium Orange + White are made for the rough cobbles covering the street. I use lots of texture to give the impression of the ancient stones. Cadmium Red Light is added to some of those mixes for the terra cotta pots sitting on the window seat. A stroke of Ultramarine Blue + White is drawn along the edge of the container to make it appear round.

SB0715 Step 6

We’re going to have Naturtiums tumbling out of the containers. The fragrant flowers are blocked in with Cadmium Orange, Cadmium Red Deep and Cadmium Red Light.

SB0715 Step 8

The round leaves of the Nasturtium are mixes of Cadmium Yellow Deep + Ultramarine Blue + White. The Philodendron wandering along the base of the wall is a crisper green made of Pthalo Blue + Lemon Yellow. Then I turn my attention to the sweet little burro. I pull out a special color that I don’t normally have on my palette for his shiny coat, Ivory Black.

OK, Now for that SOMETHING SPECIAL I promised. Many of you have asked that I do a video as I paint. Well, here you go…..

FLOWERS FIRST:

LEAVES LAST:

I pulled out the manual on our camera and figured out how to do the video, aren’t you proud of me? If you, my readers, hadn’t been pushing me I’d never have done it. As Jack says, I’m like an ostrich. I’d rather stick my head in the sand than learn any new technology, I’m so computer challenged 🙂

SB0715 Flores del Sol 11x11Flores del Sol      11 inches by 11 inches   Original Oil Painting

What better than to call this little gem Flores del Sol, “Flowers of the Sun”. Thank you for following my blog. AND…keep a watch out. I’ll be adding videos from time to time thanks to y’all. Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

8 Responses to “Something Special for Our Readers”

  1. Jo Ann Morgan Says:

    That’s a great ideal to add videos. I was hoping you would!

  2. Janet Zeh Says:

    Congratulations on your first videos, Mikki. Nicely done – you are an amazing painter and it’s great to see your brush in action!

  3. Chris Says:

    Oh Wow! You are brave, Mikki! Congratulations on a job well done. It was fascinating to watch you paint with such deliberate brush strokes. Thanks for sharing!

  4. joannecali Says:

    So charming and beautiful and happy

  5. cpickvance Says:

    Yes, thank you for these films! I really enjoy watching how you bring paint to life! Please please post more!

  6. Barbara Says:

    Hi, Could you please tell me why you paint everything in purple first? Do you let some of the purple show through when you go over it with paint? You do nice work!

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Barbara,
      Thank you for your kind words. The purple is a mixture of Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson. Rather than using pencil I just make my initial sketch in the oil wash. This helps me establish the plan and shadow patterns on the canvas. I do a more intensive washin on the more complicated pieces. I’m not sure how much of the purple shows through by the time the painting is finished. I paint pretty thickly, the oil wash drawing is mainly to get my idea up on the canvas giving me a “Road Map” to follow. Hope this helps. Have a great day, Mikki

Leave a Reply

