Sun Splashed Red

SC1015 Sun Splashed Red Step 7

Our first step today is to paint the old paver floor. My paint mixtures are shown above. #1. MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. #2. MUD + Cadmium Orange. #3. MUD + Cadmium Orange + Alizarin Crimson. #4. Mix #2 + more MUD. #5. Cadmium Orange + a touch of Pthalo Blue + MUD. #6. Mix #5 + White. #7. Mixture #6 + more White. #8 and #9. Two shades of Cadmium Orange + a little Pthalo Blue. #10. Ultramarine Blue + White #11. Pthalo Blue + a touch of Cadmium Orange.

I have to say my inexperience in making videos is showing 🙂 When I first played the video back I was so frustrated that my hand covered part of the demonstration showing drawing the perspective lines on the tile floor. I promise I will change the camera position next time I show how I paint a floor!

SC1015 Sun Splashed Red Step 8

Also that Molly, our rescue kitty, had to be part of the movie making. Here’s my painting and video set up. Molly sleeps on the taboret while I paint. But today she decided she wanted to do a little directing. When I was recording the video she reached out and started jiggling the camera. She’s never done that before! I think I edited most of the shakes out but there may be a few here and there. Don’t you think the painting over the mantle is beautiful? Jack did that for me. It’s called Peace in the Valley.

SC1015 Sun Splashed Red Step 9

The chili ristra is painted with thick brushstrokes to give the impression of the individual peppers. If you’d like to see this or any of the other pictures larger just click on the image.

SC1015 Sun Splashed Red Step 10

My color mixes for the Sunflowers are: #1. MUD + Liquin. #2. Pthalo Blue + White. #3, #4 and #5. Various proportions of Pthalo Blue + Cadmium Yellow Medium. #6. Cadmium Yellow Medium + a little MUD + Cadmium Orange. #7. Cadmium Yellow Medium. #8. Cadmium Yellow Medium + Lemon Yellow.

SC1015 Sun Splashed Red Step 11

The blossoms are blocked in first. Then the leaves are painted around the masses of yellow, giving shape to the flowers.

SC1015 Sun Splashed Red Step 12

Isn’t it amazing how the distinctive Sunflowers appear as the dark centers are added?

SC1015 Sun Splashed Red Step 13

The Hollyhock blossoms are made of Permanent Rose, Permanent Rose + Cadmium Red Light and Permanent Rose + White.

SC1015 Sun Splashed Red Step 14

Seed pods are added to the tall flower stalks.

SC1015 Sun Splashed Red 24x20Sun Splashed Red     24 inches x 20 inches   Original Oil Painting

AND….we’re done! I really appreciate all of you following my blog. Thank you for your kind comments. And please, always feel free to ask questions. Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

One Response to “Sun Splashed Red”

  1. ALR Says:

    Your paintings are fantastic. The colors you use and your painting techniques inspire me every day. Thank you for sharing your incredible talent.

Leave a Reply

