Got Spring Fever?

SC1115 Step 1

Jack and I aren’t the only ones with Spring Fever, we’ve had several collectors contact us about Bluebonnet commissions. I’m absolutely thrilled because I love painting Bluebonnets. This piece is going to be painted around the edges so the canvas has been mounted to cardboard to make handling and shipping easier. To see how this was done on a another “over the edge” piece CLICK HERE.

SC1115 Step 2

The old barn is drawn in with a thin oil wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. I begin with the structure because it’s the focal point of the painting. I had it a little too small at first, you can see where I’ve expanded the building. Please remember as you read through my blog, you can enlarge any of the pictures by clicking on the image.

SC1115 Step 3

Cathy specifically requested that I put a windmill next to the barn. NO PROBLEM. My wrist is braced against my mahl stick to steady my hand as I draw in the blades.

SC1115 Step 4

Here’s the completed structure.

SC1115 Step 5

Now the landscape is added. The silhouettes of the live oak trees in the distance are washed in lightly. Moving to the foreground I begin working on the rocks, cactus and flowers lining the stream. I’m not worried about details at this point, just the placement of the basic shapes.

SC1115 Step 6

We’re all sketched up and ready to begin painting in our next session. Cathy asked that I remove the waterfall in the foreground, she’d like the stream to be flatter with only the small one toward the back. I’ll make that change later as I’m painting. Thank you for following my blog today. Hope to see you again soon. Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

3 Responses to “Got Spring Fever?”

  1. Ana Guerra Says:

    Do you paint from photos or from your head. Beautiful work!!!

    Sent from iCloud

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Ana,
      I use photos, lots of them, as reference, We have binders full of photographs we’ve taken over the years. Now with digital cameras I keep tons of images on the computer. I catalog them according to subject. Thank you for following my blog and your kind words.
      Mikki

  2. Nancy Gregg Says:

    I just recently found your blog and I just love it! Thank you for sharing your methods with us. There is always something new to learn. Congratulations on your success!

Leave a Reply

