Spring Finery

SD1615 Spring Finery Step 1

It’s been crazy busy around here, I haven’t had a chance to get a blog posted. BUT, I’m back now……Let’s get to work. This Bluebonnet piece will be for our gallery in Santa Fe. It’s on a gallery wrap canvas and will be painted on the sides. To see how I’ve attached the canvas to the cardboard backing CLICK HERE.

SD1615 Spring Finery Step 2

The sky is painted first, it’s the main source of light. Then the most distant layer of hills is made cooler with Ultramarine Blue + a touch of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + White. The next layer coming forward is warmer, various mixes of MUD + a little Pthalo Blue + Cadmium Orange + White are used here. The cooler, muted colors in the background make the red barn POP! The Wisteria cascading over the old cedar fence is blocked in while the sky is still wet. Since the edges are going to be painted I’m using Winsor Newton Griffin Alkyd White Oil Paint in my mixtures. It dries much quicker than regular oils.

SD1615 Spring Finery Step 3

As you can see I “Paint Forward” on a landscape. Here the field of Bluebonnets has been completed. Notice how the greens in the distant part of the field are cooler than those in the foreground. Now the Bluebonnets are in I finish the details of the Wisteria. By the way, if you’d like to see this or any of the other pictures larger just click on the image.

SD1615 Spring Finery Step 4

Prickly Pear Cactus extends up in front of the Bluebonnets and distant Oak Trees. Letting some of the foreground elements rise above those in the background helps to give the impression of depth in the painting. The rocks lining the stream are blocked in.

SD1615 Spring Finery Step 5

Clear, cool water tumbles over the rocks. Wouldn’t you love to sit on one of the warm boulders, listen to the music of the falling water and dip your toes in the refreshing stream?

SD1615 Spring Finery 14x24

A shot of sunlight skips across the pond in front illuminating the rocks, Indian Paintbrush, Matilija Poppies and the Coreopsis on the right side. Texas is decked out in its Spring Finery! I’d like to say WELCOME to all of the new readers who have signed up to receive my blog. Thanks for following along and do remember, if you have questions please ask. Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

3 Responses to “Spring Finery”

  1. cpickvance Says:

    Another gorgeous painting! I love your blog!

  2. Vrushali Says:

    I recently discovered this treasure cove you call your blog…I have just started experimenting with painting, and your step-by-step blog entries make painting even big, previously-thought-impossible scenes real easy! You are very inspiring, helpful, and a magnificent painter. Thank you for posting such a detailed guide to your amazing work!

    Do you use acrylics of oils? And also how come you paint your flowers before the background door/building (I am referring to the bougainvillea vine on top of the Spanish villa arches in the Portofino piece)
    (I tried painting 2 of your studies (the 2 building scenes) from your big Portofino piece so far)

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Vrushali,
      Thank you for following my blog. I use oils; don’t like acrylics as they dry too quickly and the colors darken after a day or so. Plus I like how you can mix oils. Most of the time I paint the building before doing any flowers. But sometimes I’ll block in a Bougainvillea or other plant that clumps into a mass of color before completing the architecture. This allows me to soften the lower edges of the plant as I paint the wall. Then I’ll come back and paint the final details of the foliage and flowers over the wall. HAPPY PAINTING, Mikki

Leave a Reply

