A Sedona Touch

SD1815 A Burst of Color Step 1

Today’s piece is for our gallery in Sedona, Exposures International Fine Art. I begin by sketching the basic plan up on the canvas in a thin oil wash made of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. The image will extend over on to the sides of the gallery wrapped canvas so I’ve attached it to a cardboard backing. If you’d like to see how this was done CLICK HERE.

SD1815 A Burst of Color Step 2

The sketch is finished and we’re ready to begin painting.

SD1815 A Burst of Color Step 3

We’ll start on the adobe walls, my color mixes are as follows. #1. Ultramarine Blue + White. #2. MUD + White. #3. MUD + Cadmium Orange + a little Ultramarine Blue + a little bit of White. #4. Mix #3 + more White. #5. Mixture #4 with more White added. #6. Extra White is added to Mix #5.

The VIDEO above shows how I block in the walls. I “contruct” the architecture first, then it will be landscaped.

SD1815 A Burst of Color Step 4

While the paint of the wall is still wet I block in the basic structure of the cheery yellow southwestern style bench. Since this will be painted on the sides I’m working in Winson Newton Girffin Alkyd Oils, they dry much quicker than regular ones. I want to get the outer lines of the bench pulled into the wall behind it so they will be smooth.

SD1815 A Burst of Color Step 5

I also want to finish the magenta Morning Glory Vine dangling down over the wall before the wall dries. The Vine is painted in my usual sequence of Flowers First, Leaves Last.

SD1815 A Burst of Color Step 6

A special touch frequently seen in Sedona is a Kokopelli, dancing on the wall. Thought I’d add a zigzag of turquoise on the bronze plaque. That will finish us up for today, hope you’ll come back tomorrow and follow along. Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

One Response to “A Sedona Touch”

  1. mjspringett Says:

    great work mikki, you never fail to inspire me, i have looked for similar compositions in my part of the country, come right in and have a seat, thanks

Leave a Reply

