Laundry Day

2015-5-12 Sissie in comforter 1

Today was laundry day. I usually pile our comforter on the bench in the bedroom while I’m putting on clean sheets. Guess who decided to take a little nap, snuggled in the folds? That’s Sissie, one of our rescue kitties. Suppose I’ll just have to wait to finish making the bed ’til her snooze is over!

SE1915 Healing Retreat step 1

Starting a commission for a brand new collector in…..Taiwan. Can you believe it? Greta discovered my work on Google and using Skype we worked out all the details. I feel so Hi-Tech! My pen and ink sketch is shown above. You can click on this or any of the other images to view them larger.

SE1915 Healing Retreat step 2

Greta will be visiting the United States this summer, so I’m painting the piece on unstretched canvas. She’ll be able to roll her painting up to carry it home on the plane. I’m doing it now so the thick oils will have plenty of time to dry. The canvas is clipped to a double ply piece of cardboard. The outside border of the image is taped off. When the piece has finished drying I’ll remove the tape, leaving a nice clean edge. Not only does it look nice, this will make it easier to stretch.

SE1915 Healing Retreat step 3

I sketch up the basic plan in a thin oil wash made of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. Why do we call the deep purple mixture MUD? CLICK HERE to learn more about our Double Primary Palette and find out! The window areas are washed in with mixes of MUD + Liquin and Ultramarine Blue + Liquin. I don’t want the openings to be totally opaque, the translucency will help give a hint of something inside. You can see this better if you enlarge the image, just click on the picture.

SE1915 Healing Retreat step 4

The initial drawing on the canvas is complete. I label the flowers, I don’t want to forget what we decided to plant in the garden! I’ve been known to do that from time to time, OPPPS!

If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

4 Responses to “Laundry Day”

  1. ambikasudhakaran Says:

    Congrats on your commission from Taiwan. Must be exciting to work on!

  2. Vrushali Says:

    Can’t wait to see the finished product of this one! Looks beautiful already!

  3. Annette Says:

    Sweet kitty. You are known around the world Mikki!! This one looks like it going to be another beauty. I will follow along.

Leave a Reply

