Third in a Quartet

SE2015 Summer Splendor Step 1

This piece is the third in a set of four. Our collector commissioned a series depicting the Four Seasons in Santa Fe. Here’s the pen and ink drawing! Please remember as you proceed through my blog, you can enlarge any of the images by click on them.

SE2015 Summer Splendor Step 2

The initial sketch on the canvas is made in a thin oil wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. I begin by establishing the structure of the gate.

SE2015 Summer Splendor Step 3

The flowers are roughly indicated and labeled. That way as I get to slapping paint up on the canvas I won’t forget what I’m supposed to plant! I’ve done that before, fortunately my client at the time liked the flowers I painted even better than the ones we had planned. WHEW! I got lucky 🙂

SE2015 Summer Splendor Step 4

First the adobe wall is painted with several mixes in various proportions of Ultramarine Blue + Cadmium Orange + White. MUD is added to darken the mixtures for the shadows. Ultramarine Blue + White is used to cool the back edge of the gate opening so it will recede.

SE2015 Summer Splendor Step 5

A few Sunflower shadows are cast on the wall behind where these happy flowers will grow. Some of the foliage is also blocked in with greens leftover from my previous painting.  I’ll come back and finish the leaves when I work on the Sunflowers.

If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

Leave a Reply

