Secluded Elegance

SF2415 Secluded Elegance step 13

The double arched gate is painted with two different shades of Pthalo Blue + White. I brace against the mahl stick to steady my hand as I draw the fine lines indicating the separate panels.

VIDEO! Let’s paint the lacy Russian Sage. Several mixes of Dioxazine Purple + White are used for the feathery blossoms.

SF2415 Secluded Elegance step 14

 Our Russian Sage is complete.

SF2415 Secluded Elegance 24x30 chilis

One of our readers asked a great question the other day. She wanted to know why I had painted the Chili Ristras before doing the wall behind them. Actually, at the point she saw them, they were only washed in with Alizarin Crimson + Liquin. I had done that when the painting was first sketched up on canvas. Now that they are completely dry I’ve come back and added opaque brushwork. This helps to shape the individual peppers and give them dimension. You can click on the picture to see it larger. In fact you can do this with any of the images on my blog.

SF2415 Secluded Elegance step 15

I reverse my usual sequence of Flowers First, Leaves Last to paint the Poker Plant. Since the flowers dance high above the long, strap-like leaves I paint the foliage first. To add the blooms, I’ll gently “Lay” the brushstrokes on top of the underlying color. This way my brush won’t pick of any of the wall paint and muddy the bright blossoms.

SF2415 Secluded Elegance 24x30Secluded Elegance      24 inches by 30 inches

Wouldn’t it be fun to walk through the Secluded Elegance of this courtyard and explore the red rocks of Sedona? Painting this piece has brought back wonderful memories of living in Carefree, Arizona, just north of Scottsdale. Many times during the heat of the summer we’d make a fun trip up to enjoy the cooler temperatures in Sedona. Thanks for following along. Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEGwww.Senkarik.com

One Response to “Secluded Elegance”

  1. Terri Legg Says:

    I am so glad I found your blog. Thanks for sharing yours and Jack’s tips and talents with us. Having lived in Santa Fe years ago, I especially love the warmth and color you use to represent the quality of light in the region. I live on the gulf coast of Alabam and paint the beaches and rivers here, so it is fun for me to (vacation) through your blog and videos.

Leave a Reply

