Day Lilies, Sunflowers and Petunias

 

SF2815 - SF2915 Step 12

The paint for the Day Lilies is all mixed. #1. Cadmium Orange + Cadmium Yellow Medium. #2. Pure Cadmium Orange. #3. Cadmium Orange + Alizarin Crimson. #4. Four different shades of Pthalo Blue + Lemon Yellow. #5. Pthalo Blue + Liquin.

VIDEO TODAY! I paint the Day Lilies opposite my usual sequence of Flowers First, Leaves Last. Since the bright blossoms hover above the long straplike leaves I block in the foliage first. Then the thick paint of the flowers is gently “Laid” on top of the underlying color. I don’t want to pick up any of the wall or leaf paint on my brush, it will muddy the intense hue of the blooms.

SF2815 - SF2915 Step 13

The Sunflowers are now blocked in going back to my normal process. The leaves will be painted around the yellow, helping to shape the large blooms.

SF2815 - SF2915 Step 14

Petunias, made of various mixes of Permanent Rose + Cadmium Red Light + White, fill the large square container by the gate.

SF2815 - SF2915 Step 15

Red Penstemon jumps from the canvas on the left to the one on the right. We’ll paint the unique little bench in our next session. There will be videos! Hope you’ll come follow along.

2015-3-25 Molly in Bluebonnets

Molly, our sweet studio supervisor and garden girl, is at the kitty hospital today. Seems she has an infection, the doctor thinks Sissie may have bitten or scratched her in a tussle. Now….. that Molly does instigate these fusses and Sissie has a distinctly fiery side! Looks like Miss Molly lost out on this one, she’s getting antibiotics and pain killers. Hopefully she’ll be home tonight and will think twice before she taunts Little Sissie again.  CHILDREN!!!!! Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEGwww.Senkarik.com

 

4 Responses to “Day Lilies, Sunflowers and Petunias”

  1. Patrice Kelly Says:

    Hi Mikki,

    Finally Moved to a beautiful new space and starting to retire from Wedding Photography hope to get more time to start painting. Always love your blogs.

    Patrice >

  2. Dale Bernard Says:

    Miss Molly, Is in my prayers. She’s beautiful. Your art is beautiful as weel :o}

  3. Sally W. Abbott Says:

    I love your work, totally enjoy your blog and the dialogue. Today, I finally noticed that you wear latex gloves while painting. I used to wear them as my skin had become so dry and sore. Then my eyes started burning and lastly, my husband couldn’t breathe when I had all my mixes out and was working. I now do watercolors, acrylics, pastels and Brusho. Most of the colors are the same, but none have that lovely way of mixing, blending, etc. as does oil. Thanks so much for your informative blog, it’s useful no matter what medium you may use!

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Sally,
      I use nitrile gloves, they cause less allergies than latex. I’m with you on dry hands, if I don’t wear them my hands do crack and get really sore. Jack is on home kidney dialysis, I’m his care partner. It involves washing my hands 4 times a day for three minutes at a time. So with that, cooking, painting and gardening my poor hands definitely need protection.
      I agree with you on how nice it is to work in oils. Have you tried Water Based Oils? They are made to avoid the allergies that regular oils sometimes cause. Might be worth trying. Thank you for following my blog. Please, always feel free to ask questions. HAPPY PAINTING, Mikki

Leave a Reply

