A Flourish of Color

I’M BACK! My Annual Collector Event in Santa Fe was a lot of fun. Was great to see all of the Team Senkarik Members who attended, many have become dear friends over the years. Honestly, it felt like old home week. Made several sales and came back with commissions to paint. I feel so fortunate as an artist, I have far more to do than I have time for. God has truly blessed Jack and me. I want to extend a big Texas MUCH OBLIGED to everyone that came, as well as the wonderful owners and staff at the Santa Fe Art Collector Gallery who worked so hard to make this event a success.

SI4215 A Flourish of Color Step 1

Now it’s time to get back to the easel. My eBay collectors were very patient as I worked on paintings for the Big Event. So this first piece is for y’all! The gallery wrap canvas is 14 inches tall by 11 inches wide. The basic plan is sketched on the canvas in a thin oil wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimon) + Liquin. I label the flowers so I don’t forget my original ideas as I paint. Don’t laugh, I’ve been known to do that!

CLICK HERE to go directly to the auction.

SI4215 A Flourish of Color Step 2

After painting the adobe structure I concentrate on the steps. There is a basic rule that helps…..The upright plane of the riser is always darker than the top, flat plane of the step tread. This holds true whether the stairs are in bright light or shadow.

SI4215 A Flourish of Color Step 3

Bracing my wrist against a mahl stick steadies my hand as I delineate the fine details of the hardware on the red gate.

VIDEO! The tile floor is continued on to the bottom of the gallery wrap canvas. Molly, one of our rescue kitties, appears to be totally impressed with the process 🙂

SI4215 A Flourish of Color Step 5

I love blue ceramic flower pots. These are all painted with mixes of Ultramarine Blue + White.

SI4215 A Flourish of Color Step 6

Following my usual sequence of Flowers First, Leaves Last the Sunflowers are blocked in. The mass of yellow is immediately transformed into these happy flowers when the dark centers are added.

SI4215 A Flourish of Color Step 8

The Geraniums are painted in the same sequence. #1. The color of the blossoms is blocked in with various combinations of Permanent Rose + White and Cadmium Red Light + White. #2. Adding the warm foliage with mixes of Pthalo Blue + Lemon Yellow.

SI4215 A Flourish of Color 14x11A Flourish of Color

Sometimes you see an entrance to someone’s home that just takes your breath away. This is one of those, when I saw the red gate and blue ceramic containers I immediately knew it would be a super painting. Not having a camera I jotted down a quick sketch and made color notes. Wouldn’t you love to walk up to this gate when you come home? Here is your opportunity to envision just that every day. Give your wall A Flourish of Color with this Billboard of Happiness hanging in your home or office! You can click on the image to see it larger.

CLICK HERE to go directly to the auction.

SI4215 A Flourish of Color Sides 2

A Flourish of Color measures 14 inches tall x 11 inches wide. This size Senkarik Original Oil Painting retails for $490 in our Team Galleries. But to make it more fun we are starting the bid at A PENNY! That’s right, ONLY ONE CENT!

And don’t worry about framing, A Flourish of Color is painted around the edges on a gallery wrap canvas with 1 1/2 inch sides. This painting is ready to hang as soon as you unpack it! We even provide the hanger and nail. A Flourish of Color would also make a wonderful gift for that special someone in your life who loves color! A Senkarik Original Oil Painting is a present that lasts for generations. HAPPY BIDDING!

REMEMBER, the auction for A Flourish of Color ends Sunday, September 20 at 8 PM Texas (Central) Time.
CLICK HERE to go directly to the auction.

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEGwww.Senkarik.com

2 Responses to “A Flourish of Color”

  1. jayalakshmi yegnaswamy Says:

    I was wondering… rather missing you…so happy you are back Mikki 🙂

  2. Jerry Taylor Says:

    Two of my favorite things: Mikki’s paintings and Jack’s writings. God is good, all the time.

Leave a Reply

