Let’s go to Santorini!

 

SC2714 Serene Santorini 14x14

This commission takes us on a magical trip to one of Jack’s and my favorite places…….Santorini, Greece. My collector fell in love with Serene Santorini, it’s shown above. However, this piece sold quite some time ago so I suggested that I paint a similar piece especially for her.

SI4315 Step 1After we visited for awhile she came to the conclusion that a vertical piece would work better for her space. My collector wanted to show more of the beautiful Aegean Sea and also requested a couple of glasses of red wine on the table. Here is my pen and ink sketch.

SI4315 Step 2

The painting, framed in my Signature Frame, measures 30 inches tall by 24 inches wide. The frame is protected by shrink wrap and blue painter’s tape to keep it clean as I paint. Since we are high on the bluffs overlooking the Aegean Sea, the horizon line is placed about a quarter of the way down from the top of the canvas. After establishing the horizon line the table and chairs are drawn.

SI4315 Step 3

Now the distant islands and bluffs are lightly blocked in with an oil wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin.

SI4315 Step 4

When my collector saw the pen and ink sketch she asked if I could make the domed church smaller and include more of the characteristic, white buildings “tumbling” down the bluffs. I suggested adding some of the windmills that are prevalent on the island. You can click on this or any of the other pictures to see them larger. The basic plan is sketched up on the canvas, we’ll begin painting in the next session.

AND……..If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged! Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

One Response to “Let’s go to Santorini!”

  1. Annette Says:

    I just love to see your work. It puts my soul in a peaceful place. Beautiful Nikki.

Leave a Reply

