A Field of Bluebonnets

SJ4415 Cool, Cool Water step 11

Let’s plant that field of Bluebonnets! I mix a bunch of colors on my glass palette. #1. The mix directly under the number is Dioxazine Purple + White, the pinker one to the right is Magenta + White. #2. Three combinations of Pthalo Blue + Cadmium Orange + White. #3. MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Cadmium Yellow Medium + White. #4. Several variations of Pthalo Blue + a touch of Cadmium Orange + Lemon Yellow + White. #5. Pthalo Blue + White. #6. Three mixtures of Cobalt Blue + White. The colors lined up on the left side of my palette are from our last session. These oil paints will be usable for several days.

SJ4415 Cool, Cool Water step 12

Now I begin “Smooshing” the paint around on the distant field. How’s that for a technical term? Basically it means I apply A LOT of jumbled color to cover the wildflower meadow. But there is method to my application of paint. The coolest colors are put in the distance, I use the warmer ones as I come closer to the foreground. To give the appearance of depth in the painting I follow a very simple rule: Cool Colors Go Back, Warm Colors Come Forward.

SJ4415 Cool, Cool Water step 13

Bluebonnets are added with the Cobalt Blue mixtures. I work around the horse carefully, I want my washed in drawing to be fully intact. It will be much easier to paint him if I can follow my original sketch.

SJ4415 Cool, Cool Water step 15

Details are added to the Bluebonnets directly behind the horse. The “icing on the cake” is to make the little white bonnets that top each blossom. White + a little touch of blue is used. I’ll reserve pure White for the highlights on the water falls and the Prickly Poppies in the foreground.

SJ4415 Cool, Cool Water step 14

“Bonnets” are also delineated on the Bluebonnets in the middle ground. The same White is used as before……however, I’ve added more blue to the mix. The cooler, duller white will fall further into the distance. These flowers don’t have as much detail as the ones right in back of the horse. Another way to make things look far away is to paint them with less detail.

SJ4415 Cool, Cool Water step 16

The Bluebonnet field is complete. I’ve let a few other wildflowers pop up here and there. Also native grasses and shrubs dot the field. Thanks for visiting today. Hope you’ll come back again soon, I’ll be working on the horse next! Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

Leave a Reply

