Courtyard with a View

Sketch Boggs Courtyard 2

This piece is going to hang across the room from Cool, Cool Water.  My collector wants a courtyard with the feel of a Spanish villa looking out over vineyards and a distant Mission. David also thought it would be neat to include a basket weaver on the porch by the door.

SJ4615 step 2

The basic plan is sketched on the canvas with a thin oil wash made of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. I begin with the foreground elements and building on the right. Perspective lines are drawn to aid in constructing the steps and planters.

SJ4615 step 3

After drawing the door, work begins on the basket weaver. Her position will determine the placement of the opening in the courtyard wall. You can see how my mahl stick hooks over the top of the cardboard holding the canvas. I brace against it to steady my hand as I draw.

SJ4615 step 5

Now for the archway. I’ve planned for the darkness of the side wall of the opening to accentuate the sunlight illuminating the basket weaver’s face.

SJ4615 step 6

We decided the Carmel Mission, one of Jack’s and my absolute favorites, would work perfectly in the distance. Living near there several years ago, we loved to visit the Mission and meander through the gardens. It was always so relaxing and tranquil.

SJ4615 step 7

The chili ristra is washed in with Alizarin Crimson + Liquin. Using a clean brush I go back in and lift off the wash to delineate the individual peppers.

SJ4615 step 8

The fountain finishes our initial oil sketch. Please remember as you read though my blog, if you’d like to see this or any of the other images larger just click on the picture. We’ll begin painting in the next session, hope you’ll come join us. You can receive an email every time I publish a new post if you subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged! Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

One Response to “Courtyard with a View”

  1. Zenobia Says:

    I loved this, and I loved Jacks Article. Good things always come to those who have been kind to others. Thats you two!!!!!

Leave a Reply

