Change of Plan

First of all I want to let you know Jack’s newest article is out on FASO.com. CLICK HERE to read UnDefeated.

SJ4615 step 9

We begin with the sky. Since it’s the main source of light for the painting, it determines the mood for the entire piece. Cobalt Blue + White is used for the upper portion, while Pthalo Blue + White is reserved for the lighter part of the sky nearest the horizon. Please remember as you read through my blog you can enlarge any of the pictures by clicking on the image.

SJ4615 step 10

Now I “paint forward” from the sky, adding the mountains and distant sliver of Monterey Bay gleaming in the distance. Humongous Monterey Cypress trees grow behind the mission. I’ve moved these magnificent trees just a little to accentuate the facade and bell towers of the Carmel Mission.

SJ4615 step 11

Painting the stately Mission brings back such warm memories of living in Carmel. I can hear the crashing waves of the ocean in my mind and almost feel the cool sea breeze on my face as I paint. Mixes of Cadmium Orange + Ultramarine Blue + White are used for the sunlit portion of the building. I add MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) into those mixtures for the shadow areas. If you would like to learn more about our Double Primary Color Mixing System that Jack developed CLICK HERE.

SJ4615 step 12

Now for the change of plan. My collector decided the basket weaver just wasn’t working for him and his wife. He still wants to include a figure……so I need to paint out the lady working on the basket. I use White Winsor Newton GRIFFIN Alkyd Oil paint to cover the initial sketch. I can’t use Acrylic, the water based paint over the oil wash would cause cracking in years to come.

SJ4615 step 13

The figure is covered, now all I have to do is wait until the White is dry to come back and sketch over it. Fortunately Alkyd Oil Paint dries very quickly, it should be ready in a day or so. I’ll finish the window panes in another session, have to complete the vineyard in the background first! We’ve had almost one hundred new people sign up to follow my blog today. WOW! I’d like to WELCOME every one and say THANK YOU! Please, always feel free to ask questions. I’ll answer them as best I can. HUGS,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

Leave a Reply

