Romance of Roses

mikki with rose 1 100dpi

My collector still wants to have a figure near the door. He originally suggested a lady standing next to the door. I felt that would be too static. The tall archway, the upright figure, the door and the chili ristra would line up almost like fence posts. Then I thought what about a woman sitting on the steps taking in the fragrance of flowers in a pot by the porch? David said, “Sounds good!”

Aren’t digital cameras wonderful? I set ours up on a tripod and began taking “Selfies!” The afternoon light in our garden was perfect. As I was taking pictures Jack came up with the idea for me to be smelling a rose. Ahhhh, how Romantic. And what better than to be sitting beside a basket filled with fresh sunflowers and roses?

SJ4615 step 14

The area where I painted out the basket weaver is now dry. My first step is to lightly pencil in the basic shapes of the figure. You can click on the picture to see it larger.

SJ4615 step 15

Now I start drawing the figure in a thin oil wash made of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. Our lady will be in a white dress, I’ve shortened the sleeves and lengthened the skirt.

SJ4615 step 16

The light and shadow pattern on the face is washed in.

SJ4615 step 17

The fragrant rose is washed in with Alizarin Crimson + Liquin. I love how the shadow of the flower is cast on the bodice of the dress. My heart sang when I saw it in the original photo.

SJ4615 step 18

The darkness of the courtyard wall in the distance will accentuate the dress and face of our lady basking in the sun and enjoying the “Romance of Roses”. I wonder what thoughts are floating through her imagination.

SJ4615 step 19

So here’s the full painting…….What do you think? The red of the roses and the chili ristra are going to look so nice on either side of the Turquoise door.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

NEWS FLASH! Several of you have asked me to let you know when our art marketing books go on sale. Well, here you go. Our online publisher is offering a 20% savings on ALL of our books in print at Lulu.com. But you have to act quickly, the sale ends at Midnight on Sunday, November 1. Just use the code ZOMBIE20 when you check out. CLICK HERE to see all four pages of our books. Please remember, the savings is only on the print versions of the books, not the ebooks. Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

5 Responses to “Romance of Roses”

  1. Annette Says:

    I love this idea you replaced the basket weaver with. You look so pretty sitting there in the sun, smelling the flowers. This painting took on a whole new life. Beautiful.

  2. Dominique Gaillard Says:

    Very nice composition and btw a big thank you for sharing your process, everyone really enjoys it and is encouraged and uplifted by your presentations.
    About the lady “You” in your current work, please get rid of those ugly outdated sandals (sorry….) they may be very confy to wear and are perfect for a walk in the garden, but quite frankly don’t fit the style of your painting, they seem odd and out of place with the scene. How about bare feet ?
    I hope I have not offended you, it just clashed right in my face when I took a look at your new composition

    Yours artistically

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Dominique, You haven’t offended me at all. I appreciate your kind words about my blog. I had a feeling the “Fashion Police” might object to those sandals. Living in Texas my dress up foot wear is cowboy boots! The rest of my time is spent in gardening boots or New Balance 928s! My sandals are more than outdated. Several others have objected to them also. I agree, bare feet would be much better. Thank you for following my blog. Hugs, Mikki

      • Dominique Gaillard Says:

        Thank you Mikki for your kind response. I had strong regrets after posting my comment. At any rate the client’s final choice is the best solution, this way your picture is not so overloaded with information that the viewer doesn’t know where to focus.
        Looking forward to see the end result. It’s very exciting to follow along and anticipate what you might do or not do.
        Best regards
        Hugs from Montreal
        Dominique
        PS: I love TX, I had family in Galveston which I used to visit regularly.

  3. Pen Slade Says:

    I really love this one…the lady and the town in background…

Leave a Reply

