WHOOOOOOOOOOOO……

SK4715 Silent Sentry Step 10

All that muted adobe color on the walls makes the red door POP! The shadow part is Alizarin Crimson + Cadmium Red Deep while the sunny portion is pure Cadmium Red Light. There is going to be a Yucca in the planter to the left of the door. I go ahead and pull the dark red shadow into the wet Cadmium Red Light paint.

SK4715 Silent Sentry Step 11

The green wreath, the complimentary color of the door, makes the red appear even brighter. Placing complimentary hues, or those across from each other on the color wheel, next to each other is a simple method I use to add vibrancy to my work. Now let’s move to the planter filled with Petunias that rests on the window sill. Blocking them in I leave white canvas where the snow will be. The perky blossoms made of Permanent Rose + White will peep out from under the white blanket covering them.

SK4715 Silent Sentry Step 12

WHOOOOOOOOO is that up in the birch tree? A little barred owl has landed on the snow dusted branch. I brace my wrist on the mahl stick to steady my hand as I paint the fine details. You can click on this or any of the other images to see them larger.

SK4715 Silent Sentry Step 13

The Yucca, Prickly Pear Cactus and a cascade of Mums nestle at the base of the birch trunks. Thanks for visiting our studio today. Hope you’ll come back for the next session. I’ll be finishing up Roxie and the Snowman! Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

6 Responses to “WHOOOOOOOOOOOO……”

  1. Bonnie Says:

    That owl is adorable. This painting is so different from the usual;
    I like it.

  2. Peggy Says:

    I like this!
    Peggy

  3. 46ja Says:

    It is looking great Mikki.x 🙂

  4. Alvaro F R Pompeia Says:

    Hello MikkiThis is your post number 600 I receive on my email. Thank you very much for excellent job. It help me a lot.fred

    Date: Fri, 13 Nov 2015 22:09:06 +0000 To: a_pompeia@hotmail.com

  5. Kathy Weber Says:

    Mikki- I like your work a lot, but petunias and mums would all be dead if it got cold enough to snow…

    Kathy Weber weberstudio.blogspot.com

    >

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Kathy,
      Actually we have seen mums and petunias in Santa Fe covered with the first snow of the season. I know it would be unlikely to find them blooming in January or February, but what if they’d been indoors and placed outside just before it began snowing? Do remember, one of the joys we have of being an artist is we can make anything happen on our canvas. Thank you for your comment and following my blog. Hugs and Happy Painting, Mikki

Leave a Reply

