Lucien and Ron

Secretariat Lucien Lauren 12

Google.com is wonderful for doing research. This picture shows Jockey Ron Turcotte with Penny Chenery, Secretariat’s owner, and his trainer, Lucien Laurin, after winning the Kentucky Derby on May 6, 1972.

SK4815 step 38

This gives me an idea of what Lucien would be wearing. I’ve made his jacket more of a blue-grey, mixed with different proportions of Ultramarine Blue + Ivory Black + White. The white of his shirt is first blocked in, then I come back and draw the stripes into the wet paint with a fine liner brush dipped in a thin mix of Magenta + Liquin. You can click on this or any of the other images to see the pictures larger.

SK4815 step 39

Now the basic light and dark patterns of the trainer’s face are blocked in.

SK4815 step 40

A few touches of Cobalt Blue + White are made on the shadow side of his face. This helps to “Round” his brow and chin.

SK4815 step 41

Moving to the jockey, I start painting Ron Turcotte’s face. Cadmium Red Light is added on his cheek. Full of excitement and anticipation before the race the young jockey’s face would be a bit flushed.

SK4815 step 42

I got a sweet comment from one of my readers saying I had the wrong number on Citation’s saddle blanket. He was actually carrying #4 when he won the Preakness. He wore 1A when he won the Triple Crown at the Belmont Stakes because he was coupled with Coaltown, who was scratched before the race. OPPPS, my reader was absolutely correct and I really appreciate the comment. I watched the video of Citation winning the Belmont several times and was so caught up in the magical beauty of his smooth run I totally missed the number. DUHHHHHH! My readers are wonderful, keeping me straight. And believe me, I need all the help I can get.

So…..let’s get that number changed! It’s easy enough to make the 4 into a 1A.

SK4815 step 43

Back to Ron with his blue and white silks. I use mixes of Cobalt Blue + White for the checks and stripes.

SK4815 step 44

Trainer and Jockey are finished, thanks for following along. AND……If you’d like to receive an email every time I publish a new post you can subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged! Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

One Response to “Lucien and Ron”

  1. Sally Sjoberg Says:

    What a great tribute to a the wonderful team they Secretairiate had. I just love that horse. Your painting is so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

