Portrait of a Latina Lady

Sketch Boggs color study

We’re going a little different direction today, this is going to be a fun collaboration. My collector wants a painting of a pretty Latina Lady in a red dress for their dining room. I was in a quandary, how to do a sketch. A pen and ink drawing really wouldn’t show what I had in mind. So Jack to the rescue, he suggested I paint a small color study as “The Sketch” to show to our client. Brilliant! The resulting piece is shown above.

SL4915 Step 1

David and Heidi loved the small painting but asked for a couple of changes. The want the dress to be a deep burgandy or wine, it will go with the colors in their dining room better. And… they would like our girl to be looking up so, as David said, “the viewer can see her beautiful brown, Latina eyes.” They also don’t want any highlights in her hair, they would like it to be solid black. My first step is to grid a copy of the small painting to assist in drawing the figure on the larger canvas.

SL4915 Step 2

The grid is also lightly drawn on the canvas with pencil. Using that same instrument I begin sketching our lovely lady up on the 36 inch x 24 inch canvas.

SL4915 Step 3

After getting the entire figure drawn I concentrate on refining the changes to her face. Please remember as you read through my blog, you can click on any of the images to see them larger.

SL4915 Step 4

Using a thin oil wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin the figure is now drawn.

SL4915 Step 5

The same oil washes are used to block in the planes of her face.

SL4915 Step 6

My wrist is braced against my mahl stick to steady my hand as I draw the details of her eyes.

SL4915 Step 7

So….we’re ready to begin painting in our next session. Hope to see you then! OH, If you’d like to receive an email every time I publish a new post you can subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged! Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

2 Responses to “Portrait of a Latina Lady”

  1. Betty McLean Henderson Says:

    This is going to be beautiful as are all your works!

  2. Denise Reel Says:

    Ahhhhh! It’s beautiful Eva! This is going to turn out gorgeous. 🙂

Leave a Reply

