Sentimental Treasures

SA0216 Step 48

Sunny Sunflowers! Here are my color mixes. #1. MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. #2. Pthalo Blue + Liquin. #3. Two mixes of Ultramarine Blue + Lemon Yellow. #4. Cadmium Yellow Medium + a bit of Alizarin Crimson + MUD. #5. Cadmium Yellow Medium + MUD. #6. Pure Cadmium Yellow Medium. #7. Cadmium Yellow Medium + Lemon Yellow.

Painting the Sunflowers, FLOWERS FIRST, LEAVES LAST. One of my collectors called just as I was getting ready to put the finishing highlights on the blossoms at the end of the video; I had to cut it a bit short!

SA0216 Step 49

Here are the Sunflowers all finished out. You can enlarge the image to see it better, just click on the picture.

SA0216 Step 50

Jeana also wanted to include a pair of Cardinals. I use Mr. Chippers, one of the regular visitors in our garden, for my model.

SA0216 Step 51

White Petunias fill the foreground planter. They are painted in the same sequence as the Sunflowers. Working in this order keeps my flower colors crisp and clean. If I painted leaves first my brush would pick up the green as I blocked in the blooms, making them muddy.

SA0216 Step 52

Mrs. Chippers nestles at the base of the Petunias to feed on some Sunflower seeds. Mr. Chippers keeps watch. He’ll sound the alarm if Nathan or the Hawk decide to come their way.

SA0216 Sentimental Treasures 30x40Sentimental Treasures     30 inches by 40 inches

We’re DONE! Sentimental Treasures is full of special memories that Jeana will be able to enjoy for years to come. Don’t you like the name Jack came up with? He always steps up to the plate for me, I’m so blessed to have him in my life. As we are blessed to have our readers who follow both of us. A great big Texas, “MUCH OBLIGED” to all of you!

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

7 Responses to “Sentimental Treasures”

  1. Gunjan Says:

    Wonderful! I have always loved your work . Its so full of colours and cheerful . 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

  2. wafaa darwisha Says:

    So great and wonderful. What a pleasure to see your work done. Just a little question: On your palette you say number six is pure cadmium yellow but I see it orange. It even looks darker compared to the same color in the line of colors up the palette. Is that because of light or just a mere fool of eye. I ask because I face this situation so often. Thank you Mikki for sharing us you invaluable experience.

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Wafaa,
      What a sharp eye you have. #6 is Pure Cadmium Yellow Medium but it’s a different brand than that at the top of my palette. I’m using GRIFFIN Alkyd Oil Paints for the sunflowers because I have to ship this painting next week. The Alkyd Oils dry much quicker than the regular ones. It is a little bit darker than the WINTON Winsor Newton Oil Paint that I usually use. You will find colors do vary from brand to brand. It’s like Pthalo Blue, I like Grumbacher because it seems to be brighter than other brands. Hope all is well with you and your family in your part of the world. HUGS, Mikki

  3. Ray Dane Says:

    Mikkie, this is just beautiful. There is so much in it – the hawk, the horses, the kitty, and of course, all the gorgeous flowers. Wow!

  4. Martha Slater Says:

    As a lover of symbols, I am impressed by the way you worked these into your lovely painting. I am enjoying your blog so much and learning with every painting. Thank you.

  5. Terri Says:

    Beautiful as always, you are so gifted. You managed to fit so many meaningful images into one painting without making it feel busy or distracting and Jack found the perfect name. What a great team, thanks for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

