Relentless

Jack’s newest article has been published at FineArtStudioOnline. CLICK HERE to read RELENTLESS.

SA0416 A Plethora of Peppers step 1

Working on a new piece for our Sedona gallery. God has so blessed me as an artist, my collectors keep me busy. I’m juggling between commissions and paintings for our galleries. I’m all sketched up and ready to get started on this one. The flowers are labeled so I don’t forget my original idea when I get further along. I’ve certainly been known to do that 🙂

SA0416 A Plethora of Peppers step 2

First I have to “Construct” the building. Shadows are established first with mixes of Cadmium Orange + Ultramarine Blue + MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + White. The adobe in the sunlight is made of Cadmium Orange + Ultramarine Blue + White. After the large areas of light and dark are blocked in around the chili ladder I come back with the darker color and extend the tips of the pepper shadows.

SA0416 A Plethora of Peppers step 3

Red Chilies always look so positively Southwestern when paired with soft blue doors. This one is Pthalo Blue + White. More White is added to the mix for the lighter portion.

SA0416 A Plethora of Peppers step 4

The Window is painted with the shadow mix from the door with a little MUD added to make it a bit darker.

SA0416 A Plethora of Peppers step 5

Magenta Morning Glories tumble down over the old adobe structure. The blossoms have been blocked in first, now I’m painting the green of the foliage around the flowers. The small Bright (square) brush is perfect to delineate the heart shaped leaves. Please remember, as you read through my blog you can click on any of the pictures to see them larger.

SA0416 A Plethora of Peppers step 6

Deep, dark centers and highlights complete the cascading flowers made of mixes of Magenta + White, Magenta + Dioxazine Purple + White and Magenta + Alizarin Crimson + White. I’ve gone back to the door and added a few heart shaped shadows cast by the leaves. Gives the piece a subliminal “Aire of Romance”. If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post you can subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged! Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

Leave a Reply

