Adobe and Wisteria

SB0716 Revel in the Sun Step 5

The adobe building is painted first with mixes of Cadmium Orange + Ultramarine Blue + MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + White. More MUD is added to darken the shadows. Don’t forget, you can click on any of the pictures to see them larger!

SB0716 Revel in the Sun Step 6

After adding the tile roof I come back and drag the poles and cross bars of the ladder into the wet paint of the adobe wall.

SB0716 Revel in the Sun Step 7

The window and door are made with light and dark shades of Rembrandt Phthalo Turquoise Blue + White.

SB0716 Revel in the Sun Step 8

Resting my wrist on the mahl stick to steady my hand I delineate the willow stick uprights in the window of the door.

SB0716 Revel in the Sun Step 9

Now for the wispy Wisteria. The mixes for the flowers are several combinations of Dioxazine Purple + Ultramarine Blue + White. The foliage colors ,#2, are Cadmium Yellow Medium + Pthalo Blue. #3. A thin mix of Pthalo Blue + Liquin which will be used to add cool, darks in the depth of the leaves.

SB0716 Revel in the Sun Step 10

At the top right you can see how I’ve blocked in the Flowers First. On the other side I’m painting the Leaves Last. I work around the blossom color, helping to give them shape.

SB0716 Revel in the Sun Step 11

The last step in painting the Wisteria is to indicate the individual petals of the flowers. Then the trunk, limbs and ladder are highlighted. I appreciate you following along. Please feel free to ask questions, this blog is for you! Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

2 Responses to “Adobe and Wisteria”

  1. mikemannis Says:

    Hi Mikki,
    I really like viewing your blogs posts. This post reminded me of the place that I painted at this past weekend. Check it out.

    Thanks,
    Mike

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Good Morning Mike,
      I’m so glad you enjoy my blogs. Thank you for sending the picture of your painting. You’ve done a nice job with this! I really like the shadows cast by the vigas. Isn’t Santa Fe a wonderful source of painting ideas? Thank you again for sharing.
      Have a wonderful day and HAPPY PAINTING,
      Mikki

Leave a Reply

