More Horses

SC0816 step 1

Neat thing about the portrait of Chunky, The Boys, that I finished a few sessions ago. Santa Fe Art Collector Gallery has asked me to paint some horses for them! So…….in addition to my flower/architecture pieces they will be carrying my equine paintings. Here is my sketch for the first, a 24 inch square.

SC0816 step 2

A grid is drawn on the sketch. This will make it easier to keep the proportions correct when I draw the horses up on the canvas.

SC0816 step 3

A corresponding grid is faintly drawn on the canvas. You can see it more clearly if you will enlarge the image, just click on the picture.

SC0816 step 4

Now the horses are lightly penciled in using the grid as a guide.

SC0816 step 6

The next step is to establish the basic values of the horses and cowboy with a thin oil wash made of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin.

SC0816 step 7

I love the white mare in the foreground, she is so alert! My wrist is braced against the mahl stick to steady my hand as I delineate the details of her head.

SC0816 step 8

I’ve changed the head of the cowboy’s horse to give the painting even more action. We’ll begin applying color in our next session. And….I’ll have a video! Hope you’ll come watch. If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post you can subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged! Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

4 Responses to “More Horses”

  1. Peggy Says:

    Good job!!!!!

  2. Annette Jones Says:

    Love this one. Can’t wait to see more. Happy Friday Mikki.

  3. Connie Owens Art Says:

    Yahoo, more horses! I bet you were excited to be asked to paint more horse paintings for Santa Fe!

Leave a Reply

