Painting the Background Trees

SC0816 step 9

I’ll begin with the background. The darkness of the trees will accentuate the horses and splashing water. My color mixes are shown above. #1. Two mixes of MUD + White + a touch of Cadmium Orange. #2. Ultramarine Blue + White. #3. Cool greens made of Pthalo Blue + Cadmium Orange + White. #4. Warmer greens mixed with various proportions of Cadmium Orange + Pthalo Blue + White. #5. Three shades of mixes #3 + a little Lemon Yellow + White.

VIDEO: Following the simple rule Cool Colors Go Back, Warm Colors Come Forward the background is blocked in.

SC0816 step 10

Leaves are added loosely to give the impression of the foliage. I don’t want to paint each and every individual leaf. Then I go back and “Punch” sky holes into the mass of green to indicate the shapes of trees.

SC0816 step 11

The brush and golden grass along the bank finishes out today’s session. The colors are kept muted so they will remain in the background. I really appreciate you following along. Please remember, you can click on any of the images to see them larger. Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

4 Responses to “Painting the Background Trees”

  1. Patrice Says:

    Thank you for continuing to do this. I always love to see and watch for what you may be working on next.

  2. wafaa darwisha Says:

    I never imagined dense trees in the background could be that beautiful…I was waiting for that…Thank you Mikki.

  3. Donna Says:

    Thank you so much for sharing how you paint. I have painted my whole life (67yrs) but was always missing the mark. Life was to busy and full to really apply myself to learn. Now it is slowing down and I have your sharing and your husbands books. Between you two , in just a month I’ve learned so much. Thank you

Leave a Reply

