Painting the Bougainvillea

SD1116 Refuge of Tranquility Step 10

Let’s get to painting, I’ll begin with the sky. My mixtures are shown above. #1. White + Cobalt Blue. #2. White + Pthalo Blue + a little touch of Lemon Yellow. #3. White + Pthalo Blue.

SD1116 Refuge of Tranquility Step 11

The portion of the sky nearest the horizon is painted with mix #2. Moving upward mixture #3 is used. Then the part of the sky at the top of the canvas is made with mix #1.

SD1116 Refuge of Tranquility Step 12

The paint mixtures for the adobe are: #1. MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Ultramarine Blue + Cadmium Orange + White. #2. Mixture #1 + more White.  #3. Cadmium Orange + Ultramarine Blue + White. #4. Mix #3 + White. #5. Mix #4 + more White. #6. Ultramarine Blue + White.

SD1116 Refuge of Tranquility Step 13

I want to get the arch of the gate painted while the sky is still wet. Then I can paint the Bougainvillea over both, the wet sky and the adobe color.

SD1116 Refuge of Tranquility Step 14

Here are the color recipes for the “Bogie”. #1. Pthalo Blue + White. #2. Two mixes of Viridian Green + a little Cadmium Yellow Medium. #3. Viridian Green + Liquin. #4. Pthalo Blue + Liquin. #5. Magenta + Permanent Rose + White. $6. Two combinations of Permanent Rose + White. #7. Permanent Rose + a bit of Cadmium Red Light + White.

VIDEO: Blocking in the Bougainvillea.

SD1116 Refuge of Tranquility Step 15

AND….the Bougainvillea is done. A couple of my readers had some excellent questions. I want to answer them on my blog so I can share the information with everyone.

“Why did you finish the rooster and red peppers first?”  Actually the rooster and red peppers are only washed in. I will come back and paint them later.

“Do you change the angle of the lines when you are painting the edge/side of the canvas?” I try to envision that I’m drawing the lines on a flat canvas that will then be stretched. In other words, if this canvas is unstretched the image would appear completely normal when the fabric is flattened out.

Hope this helps. Always feel free to ask questions. Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

 

 

4 Responses to “Painting the Bougainvillea”

  1. katrine grindeland Says:

    i love your paintings and you inspire me so much with my own paintings. i am only a beginner so i love to read your blog and take advice from you. and i have some questions for you, 1) do you paint the whole painting on the same day so that all the paints are sort of wet upon each other or do you wait a day or two so that some of it will have dried before you continue? 2) what do you use to blend your colour mixes? do you have some special tools or brushes for that? 3) did you learn everything you know about painting and how to do it from yourself and your husband?
    thanks a lot

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Thank you Katrine for your kind words. To answer your questions…… (1)No, I don’t normally paint a piece in one day unless it is very small. But using Oils the paint stays wet and pliable for a couple of days. If I have an area that I want to paint wet into wet I plan ahead so I can do that portion in the same day. (2) When mixing my colors on the palette I use a painting or palette knife. (3) Jack taught himself to paint by studying the old masters in museums. Then he taught me his color mixing system. Here is a link to the blog explaining our double primary palette:
      https://mikkisenkarik.wordpress.com/2012/09/02/our-color-mixing-system/
      I appreciate your questions and having you follow my blog. HAPPY PAINTNG! Mikki

  2. Barbara Johnson Says:

    Thank you for answering katrines questions ! I and my daughter are learning more from your blog than from many books and classes we have taken. Thank you, please keep up your work and very generous sharing !

Leave a Reply

