Wispy Wisteria and Sun Dappled Shutters

 

VIDEO! Painting the Wispy Wisteria draping over the yellow wall. The lovely lavender is made of several mixes in different proportions of Dioxazine Purple + Ultramarine Blue + White. The lacy leaves are made with mixtures of Viridian + Cadmium Yellow Medium. I follow my usual sequence of Flowers First, Leaves Last!

SD1216 Step 20

After finishing the Wisteria I move to the tall, sun dappled shutters. The shadows are painted first.

SD1216 Step 21

Then the sunny portions are dragged over the shadows with pure White. This softens the edges of the sun streaks.

SD1216 Step 22

The upright edges of the shutter panels are drawn with a thin mix of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin.

SD1216 Step 23

Next the horizontal lines of the shutters are drawn. I brace the fingers of my left hand against the unpainted portion of the canvas. I rest my right hand on my left wrist to steady it as I delineate the individual louvers.

SD1216 Step 24

Since the louvers sit at an angle there is a triangular space at the end of each one. In this case I use the mahl stick to steady my painting hand as I draw them.

SD1216 Step 25

We’re moving right along…..Thank you for following my blog. Hope you’ll come back soon! BIG HUGS,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

 

2 Responses to “Wispy Wisteria and Sun Dappled Shutters”

  1. Paintbrush1984 Says:

    I can’t wait to see the finished painting! I think it is one of your best ones.. so bright, and crisp, and such detailing. Can you tell me why you use the blue tape on the borders? And where can I find it, if I need to use it?
    Madhurima

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Madhurima,
      The blue tape covers my White Signature Frame, protecting it while I work. I just pull off the blue tape when I am finished with the piece and the frame is nice and clean. You can click this link to see more about the framing:
      http://senkarik.com/framing/msframe.html
      The blue Painter’s tape comes from Home Depot. It is in the paint department and is used to tape around windows and trim when painting a house. Hope this helps, Mikki

Leave a Reply

