Let’s Go To…….

IMG_0018

Cinque Terre, a string of centuries old, seaside villages on the rugged Italian Riviera coastline. In each of the 5 towns, colorful houses and ancient vineyards cling to steep terraces as fishing boats bob in the harbors below. My collectors sent me a picture they’d taken of Vernazza, hoping I could capture memories of their vacation on canvas.

SC1513 Romantic Reflections 38x48

Debbie wanted to include lots of colorful flowers but wasn’t exactly certain how. I love the high viewpoint of the photo, looking down on Vernazza. So I suggested a terrace in the foreground, similar to the one in the piece above. Debbie and Jim really liked the idea, but after much contemplation decided to eliminate the table and chairs.

Sketch - Hunter

Here is my sketch!

SE1416 Step 2

The piece will be painted around the edges of a gallery wrapped canvas measuring 34 inches by 42 inches. The horizon line and wall of the foreground terrace are drawn first. I’ve attached the canvas to a piece of double ply cardboard so it will be easier to handle when it is wet. Want to know how I did that? Just CLICK HERE to find out.

SE1416 Step 3

Next I begin establishing the distant landscape. The basic elements are sketched on the canvas with a brush dipped in a thin oil wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin.

SE1416 Step 4

The general shapes of the flowers on the foreground terrace are now indicated.

SE1416 Step 5

My “Road Map” is ready. The simple sketch will keep me going in the right direction as I work on the painting. I’ll begin applying paint in our next session. Hope you’ll come watch. If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post you can subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

One Response to “Let’s Go To…….”

  1. bonita austin Says:

    I would love to go back (broken arm and all)

Leave a Reply

