A Day to Pause

memorial day 2016

Jack and I want to express our heartfelt thanks to all of the brave men and women serving in the military. We appreciate not only the sacrifices they have made but also that of their families. Moms and Dads, Husbands and Wives, Brothers, Sisters and Children. So many have suffered and given their lives so we can be safe in this great country. By the Grace of God we are fortunate enough to have been born in the United States. Pause a moment today to remember all of the extra special people who died for us.

2016-5-28 arbor fountain courtyard

Since it’s a holiday we’ll take a little break from the easel. Come join me for a walk through our garden!

2016-5-28 canna lilies

The Knock Out Roses are full of blooms and the leaves of the Tropicana Black Canna Lilies glow in the afternoon sun.

2016-5-28 garden end of deck 1

We brought the DayLilies from our old home. They’ve settled in beautifully don’t you think? If you’d like to see this or any of the other pictures larger just click on the image.

2016-5-28 Orange coneflowers and bulbine

I love our Coneflowers. These were quite a surprise when they bloomed, I thought I’d planted Purple Coneflower seeds 🙂 I have to say, they are perfect companions to the Salvia Greggi and Bulbine.

2016-5-28 Kitchen Garden Vitex

That is a Vitex Tree on the far left, many call it a “Texas Lilac”. Jerusalem Sage and Mexican Bush Sage fill out the bed next to the kitchen garden arbor.

2016-5-28 Swannee shadows

Doesn’t Swannee cast a cool shadow on the deck?

2016-5-28 Sissie on railing

Sissie sure enjoys our garden. She said please don’t forget take a minute to remember all of those who gave their lives for our country! Our little fur baby is so glad to be an American. Happy Memorial Day! HUGS,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com


11 Responses to “A Day to Pause”

  1. Mary Duncan Says:

    I have a great grandson in the army Mikki thank you for pausing to think of them .

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Please tell him that Jack and I thank him for his service to our country. Because of lots of young people like him we are able to enjoy a life of freedom. God Bless you and your family, Mikki

  2. Bill Gavin Says:

    Thanks for the share Mikki. We will never forget those that gave their lives for US. I served, but nothing like those who were lost!

  3. bonita austin Says:

    Plants grow like weds in your gardens – beautiful!

  4. Cathleen Battles Says:

    Wow!! Your garden is fabulous. You have the magic touch.

  5. Susan Soffer Cohn Says:

    Miki, you have created your own version of a Monet-like garden. It must be a constant inspiration. Thanks for your post today.
    Victor and I are collectors and admirers. I am in the middle of a 30 day face/portrait challenge on 30 themes, which can be followed on my facebook and twitter pages. Thanks for your inspiration.
    Susan

  6. Elisa Diozon Says:

    Beautiful garden Mikki! I used to garden a lot too till I developed a lot of allergies from lots of stuff including plants and grasses, so last Feb. I decided to just to grow my garden on canvas, that’s when I found you on YouTube. Thanks for sharing your garden and of course your paintings. I love your paintings, I wish I can afford even only one off them.

  7. Patti L Lynch Says:

    Thank you for your wonderful words and photos of your garden. We are blessed by those who gave so much that we can live in this blessed land of the free. God Bless them and God bless you and your family.

  8. Patricia Ann Ingram Says:

    Thank you for sharing your beautiful home and gardens with me. It is always a pleasure to follow your paintings and to see what is growing in your gardens. You make my lonely days much brighter. May God Bless.

Leave a Reply

