A Sweet Puppy

Ruby for painting

Let me introduce you to Ruby. Sadly this precious little girl is now in puppy heaven. Her portrait has been commissioned by two sisters as a birthday gift for their father; Ruby was his special fur baby. Rebecca and Rachel asked me to use this pose for the painting.

IMG_0680 COLOR

But since the first picture is of Ruby in her later years the girls asked if I could make her more of the color she was at a younger age.

SF1716 Ruby step 1

First the basic outline of Ruby is lightly drawn with pencil on my canvas. You can see it better if you enlarge the image, just click on the picture. Next I begin blocking in her eyes and the features of her face with an oil wash made of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin.

SF1716 Ruby step 2

I love her fluffy ears!

SF1716 Ruby step 3

The drawing of our sweetie is washed in. We’ll begin applying color in the next session. Hope you’ll come follow along. If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post you can subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

3 Responses to “A Sweet Puppy”

  1. federica pedullà Says:

    Your paintings are wonderful, I will follow you for a while ‘time and one of your paintings has inspired me to a poem I posted on my facebook profile Federica Pedullà I also sent you the richieasta of friendship, I hope it is for you what appreciated the poetry of your painting, thanks for your splendid colors that fascinate me, good day Mikki by Federica.

  2. federica pedullà Says:

    “richiesta” is reqused, sorry for my error.

  3. Ron & Cindy Kellough Says:

    As always Mikki, your work is beautiful as you know, we have plenty of them and love them all. We were saddened to hear of Jack’s passing, what a fantastic man he was. I cherish my Joaquin Jackson Texas Ranger work he gave me, it set’s right next to my desk. I remember fondly getting to drive him to Vail, Colorado while you rode with Cindy. That was a great trip and we enjoyed you two on other occasions when you came to our home in Midland. We will be here for you and if we can be of any help, please feel free to contact Cindy or myself.

    Ron & Cindy Kellough
    Midland, Texas

Leave a Reply

