Ruby

SF1716 Ruby step 12

We’ll start today’s session by painting Ruby’s body. The colors of her coat are made a tiny bit more muted so the viewer’s attention will be draw to the richer colors on her ears and face.

SF1716 Ruby step 13

Now I begin blocking in the basic planes of her face.

SF1716 Ruby step 14

The richest color is in Ruby’s alert ears. I can just imagine how she would perk them up when her name was called.

SF1716 Ruby step 15

Her gray nose is made with mixes of Ultramarine Blue + Cadmium Orange + White. Then a few rosy touches of Alizarin Crimson + MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + White are added.

SF1716 Ruby step 16

Let’s work on Ruby’s expressive eyes. First the entire area is painted with MUD. Then the deep brown iris is delineated.

SF1716 Ruby step 17

Light pours into the painting from the upper left; therefore the iris on the right side is highlighted at about 5 o’clock.

SF1716 Ruby step 18

Next, the catch light is placed near the upper lid at 11 o’clock. You can click on the picture to see it larger.

SF1716 Ruby step 20

Isn’t her purple collar pretty? I think it looks so nice with Ruby’s coat. Mixtures in several different proportions of Dioxazine Purple + Ultramarine Blue + White are used.

SF1716 Ruby 14x14

The final touch is to add Ruby’s name on the tag. What a beautiful baby, I’ve so enjoyed painting her. Please remember, if you have a fur baby that you would like me to paint please feel free to email us at senkarik@senkarik.com. And by the way, I really appreciate all of your kind comments and questions. Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

 

3 Responses to “Ruby”

  1. Rachel Williams Says:

    Dearest Micky, what a sweet but sad painting; you’ve managed to capture in the painting, the “love of the owner” for his beloved and now gone baby girl….I’ve never seen this done before. Thank you for the gift of allowing us to watch you. I know when little Ruby’s owner is given the painting, he will cry because I am crying now. You did well. Much Love, Rachel Williams

    Sent from my iPhone r./ j.

    >

  2. Roseann Zaner Says:

    Dear Mikki, Today my daughters presented their Dad (Rick) with the beautiful painting you created of our dear, sweet Ruby. I wanted to write on your blog while you were in the process, however, I didn’t want to risk ruining the surprise for my husband. I can’t put into words what this means to our family. Ruby was the sweetest little puppy who brought so much joy and love to our family for over 13 years, and although our hearts were broken after her passing, we now have this beautiful treasure to enjoy forever. Your talent and love is amazing! You have captured Ruby’s beautiful coloring, personality and spirit! This is truly the best birthday gift Rick could have received. We have videotaped him opening the gift and you must know their was not a dry eye among the four of us! It is even more beautiful in person than on your blog. Mary Sue and Nita had commissioned you to paint a painting for my daughter, Rachel about eight years ago, That painting hangs above her bed in her room and we have always treasured your gift to her. And, now we have this amazing portrait of our beloved Ruby. We showed Rick your blog and he was amazed to see how you brought Ruby to life! I can’t thank you enough for sharing your talent with the world and allowing us to have these personal treasures to hand down through our family’s generations! I have followed your career since Mary Sue and Nita told us about you. I hope that our family will have the opportunity to meet you and thank you in person with four enormous hugs! No doubt you will receive a call from my husband with a personal thank you, but I wanted to share my thoughts with you and all of your fans! Much love always, Roseann

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Oh my goodness Roseann, I’m floating. My heart skipped when I read your words. Thank you for your wonderful comment. It was so much fun working with Rebecca on the surprise. And Ruby was such a delight to paint. I’m so glad Rick loves the painting. Our fur babies hold a special place in our hearts, it makes me happy that Ruby will live on with this portrait. Hugs and love back, Mikki

Leave a Reply

