Off to Italy

SI8514 Magic of the Vines 24x30

I’m starting a new collaboration today. Our collectors saw this piece in Gallery 1870 who represents my work in the Napa Valley. They really loved the painting but wanted a few changes. Their main request was to change the view through the archway to a field of Sunflowers with an Italian hilltop village in the distance. We’ll replace the Sunflowers in the foreground with a stand of Hollyhocks.

SG1916 Step 1

The first step is to “construct” the building. The basic elements are drawn up on the canvas with a brush dipped in a thin wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin.

SG1916 Step 2

After the structure is drawn we’ll do some landscaping. The twisted, gnarled trunks of the Wisteria are moved to the left side of the painting to make room for the tall stalks of the hollyhocks on the right.

SG1916 Step 3

I label all of the plants so I don’t forget what I’m supposed to do! I’ve been known to stray from my original plan when caught up in the excitement of slapping paint on the canvas.

SG1916 Step 4

The icing on the cake is sketching the scene in the distance. I can hardly wait to start applying paint. Hope you’ll come watch the step-by-step process. If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post you can subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

 

One Response to “Off to Italy”

  1. Zenobia Says:

    What a great Idea!!! Can’t wait to see the painting develop! You are such an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

