With Heartfelt Appreciation

Jack & Mikki Meet Craig Luce 2002

It’s amazing how Jack has touched people’s lives. I’m sure the number is far beyond what any of us can imagine. Emails with stories of his generosity have come in from all over the world. Your words have been so comforting. Thank you seems so inadequate to express my heartfelt appreciation.

I’d like to share a poem by Henry Scott Holland that one of my collectors sent. It has really soothed my soul.

Death is nothing at all.

I have only slipped away to the next room.

I am I and you are you.

Whatever we were to each other,

That, we still are.

Call me by my old familiar name.

Speak to me in the easy way

which you always used.

Put no difference into your tone.

Wear no forced air of solemnity or sorrow.

Laugh as we always laughed

at the little jokes we enjoyed together.

Play, smile, think of me. Pray for me.

Let my name be ever the household word

that it always was.

Let it be spoken without effect.

Without the trace of a shadow on it.

Life means all that it ever meant.

It is the same that it ever was.

There is absolute unbroken continuity.

Why should I be out of mind

because I am out of sight?

I am but waiting for you.

For an interval.

Somewhere. Very near.

Just around the corner.

All is well.

Nothing is past; nothing is lost. One brief moment and all will be as it
was before only better, infinitely happier and forever we will all be one
together with God.

I take great comfort in knowing Jack is with Our Lord and no longer suffering. He is at peace and his heart is happy. Jack had said he DID NOT want a funeral and requested immediate cremation. But I am going to have a Celebration of his life. Originally I had thought on his birthday in March, but that is far too far away. So I’m working on a date in early to mid September. I’ll let you know the particulars as soon as we get them worked out. Big hugs to all of you for your heartwarming messages,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

26 Responses to “With Heartfelt Appreciation”

  1. Patti Lynch Says:

    You are in my prayers. What a wonderful man who lived a meaningful life for God. To be absent from the body is to be present with the Lord. Jack is totally healed and when and we shall all see one another again one day. Blessings to you, Mikki

  2. Maureen Mignone Says:

    Oh Mikki I am so sorry for your great loss. Jack was an extremely talented man. I too had to choose to take a loved one off life support. It’s the hardest thing I have ever done. I take comfort in knowing that there is a new, wonderful body for our loved one on the other side. She is no longer trapped in a useless body! We will be together again as promised by the Lord. In the days and weeks to come please concentrate on the good times, all the wonderful memories of all the great adventures you shared together. God Bless you and I pray he sends his angels to comfort you.

  3. Lori Lahr-Moulds Says:

    Mikki,
    I have never met you or Jack but feel as if I know you both. You know why? Because you both have such generous and caring hearts. You are open and share your wisdom and joy with others. I hope that you will take care of yourself during this time of loss. I also loved the poem and feel like my deceased loved ones are still in my heart each day. God bless you. We will miss Jack and his informative writings. Sending prayers your way. Lori Lahr-Moulds

  4. thebrashers1 Says:

    Mikki, I have only recently started following you, but I’m so sorry about your loss. Also so grateful that he is with Jesus and you know you’ll see him again! What a comfort that must be to you!

  5. Linda D. Says:

    You are both in my prayers. ❤

  6. Mike White Says:

    What a wonderful and inspiring man. My prayers for you and I look forward to meeting Jack some day in the future. Jack and God will have great stories to share. Thanks for sharing Jack with all us through your blog and facebook. God Bless You. Mike and Linda White

  7. joannecali Says:

    I am so sorry to hear of Jack’s passing. What wonderful companionship you shared – so supportive and loving. I’m sure the value you gave to each other is infinitely lasting, for you and him in the after life. Joanne Cali

  8. joannecali Says:

    The poem is beautiful, and I agree that a person is still there, even when their body does not survive. I believe the aware being survives.

  9. Jo Allebach Says:

    One more word to let you know how dear you and Jack have been to me. What a lovely relationship you had. God bless you.

    Jo Allebach

  10. bonita austin Says:

    Love to you.

  11. Jane Sutton Says:

    Nikki, I am so sorry to hear about Jack’s death.
    His book ( Artist Confidential ) has helped me greatly as an artist.
    I love and enjoy your blog too! Very inspiring!
    Praying that God will fill you with His peace and love!

  12. susanajardine Says:

    Dear Mikki, I am sad to learn that Jack has left us so soon. You have both been such an inspiration. He was so helpful, back when I was starting my little art business…always giving great tips, and good advice. I had the pleasure of meeting you both when you were giving a talk at the San Fernando Art Guild (Encino, CA) many years ago, with great tips. I had purchased several of his Art Marketing books, and was a fan of his column, “Heart to Heart, for many years until he retired. I see you two as always a perfect team, and so talented. I’m am glad you plan a Celebration of His Life. He gave so freely to so many. Bless you at this difficult time. May Jack be beside you in spirit. A truly good heart. Love, Susan Alcott Jardine

  13. lizmcqueensart Says:

    Thank you Mikki, I agree that one must have closure as soon as possible. September seems a good idea. We are far away, but feel a little of your pain. May Jack Rest In Peace and may YOU find peace in the knowledge. I always remember the old hymn. “Safe in the arms of Jesus, Safe on His gentle breast…..etc. “ Such a heartwarming thought. He is being cared for and blessed for what he did for others while on earth. Bless you. Love

    Liz.

  14. jasabbott Says:

    You and Jack took me under your wing when I lost my job in 2003. I had ordered Jacks book and he sent me a note telling me his son had been born in my home town. He was so friendly. I shared my dream with him to be an artist and he helped me write my bio. Then y’all sent me a $1,500 tent to do outdoor shows in. Over the years he spent hours on the phone with me, wrote me hundreds of emails, and I taped them up on the walls around my easel. Package after package arrived in the mail from you; prints, books, even two originals! It was unbelievable. When my 401k had run out I reached out and he called me. Told me to march down to the mall and set up my easel to paint and sell. I was so scared my hands shook at the thought of it. But you both encouraged me and I knew that if you believed in me then you knew what you were talking about. And you were right. I sold almost a million dollars worth of originals in that mall. He taught me how to mix colors, how to paint, and how to sell. He taught me how important my attitude was and how to stay steady in the boat. He made me wealthy. My art career is still thriving in spite of the troubled economy. For years Jack was the only person I listened to. He was like the burning bush for me. I ignored every other voice. I am now a successful artist because of yours and his incredible love and kindness. I have fed and taken care of my family for the past 13 years because of you. I would be in a dead end job I hated had our paths not crossed and treated me like I was your family. You will never know what it has meant to me, my wife and children. Jack’s teaching lives on in my art career, in my son whom I named after him, and in my heart. He was like a father to me. My heart is crushed. I pray for you every day, Mikki.

    • Kim France Says:

      What an amazing tribute! You must be incredibly talented….but, many talents go unrealized without someone who believes in them….thank you for sharing your story of Jack’s amazing reach….he leaves a legacy among all the artists like you who have charted a life course because of his encouragement…..he and Mikki have been unbelievably generous coaches, mentors and friends….I find considerable hope in the comments I have found here since Jack’s passing….I can only imagine how proud Mikki must feel. God Bless! Kim France

  15. Susan Vignola Says:

    Henry Scott Holland’s poem is one of my favorites. I first heard it read at a funeral service for my neighbor. I also read it in a Maeve Binchy novel. I think the goal of grief work has changed. It used to be that mourners were urged to let go of their deceased loved one. We’ve come to learn that love continues. The goal of grief work is not to let go but to establish a new relationship with our loved one. Jack will always be part of your life and live in your heart and your work.

    Warmest Regards,

    Susan

  16. bettypieper@aol.com Says:

    Thank you for the poem and letting us know you are well. Betty Pieper

  17. Andrea Holbrook Says:

    Wow, what jasabbott said about Jack leaves a legacy like no other. It tells those who never met Jack what he was like. He will be missed.

  18. Elizabeth Pollio Says:

    MIKKI, I did not know. Oh my ‘precious friend my heart aches for yours. I must say I am happy for Jack’s peacefulness now. He was struggling so much in the past few years and I know he hated that. We can rejoice in knowing that is past for him. I know you will be OK as you are so so strong. YOu have so many friends and followers with your art that will be there to lift you in each day. I can only reach out over the miles and hopefully you can feel my arms around you. I am always here to talk to at anytime. This is when I ask those heavenly “angels” to watch over you and hold you up. I send all my love

    Terry

  19. lorenzenart Says:

    Prayers for you and his kids. His books sparked me to believe that I could really paint and sell art at shows. He was a great person and the way he wrote made you feel that you were sitting at a table enjoying a cup of coffee with him. He will be greatly missed.

  20. Sandy Wegmann Says:

    So sorry for your loss. I do not personally know either of you but you and Jack have both had an impact on my life. You both have shared so much with so many. May God wrap his arms around you at this time. Just remember Jack is once again painting clouds for all of us earthly beings to enjoy.

  21. Christopher Newell Says:

    Thank you Mikki…you are special. Hugs

  22. Gerry Baker-Tatum Says:

    Mikki, my heart goes out to you now that your beloved has moved on. You are right that he is in a place of indescribable peace and joy! My mother recently passed on in much the same way, she aspirated into her lungs. She was 90 and had been restored by the Lord many times to live out yet another purpose before she was done. I had a dream after she passed, experiencing a tiny bit of that incredible peace and I was so comforted! May the Lord bless you abundantly as you continue your good works!

  23. Barbara Johnson Says:

    Peace to you and to your beloved Jack. What kind and generous people you both have been all these years. May angels watch over you and welcome Jack home .Till you meet again ;what a beautiful poem , thank you again for sharing with us even at this time you are generously sharing words of peace to comfort us all.

  24. lori landis art Says:

    So sorry for your and everyone’s loss. He was a unique and giving man. Larry and I wish you peace during this time. Lori

  25. Maureen Percival Says:

    I am so very sorry to hear of Jack’s passing. Tom and I met you both, once in California and once in Texas. You were both so kind and warm to us. We treasure the book that Jack signed for us. May GOD bless you and hold you in the palm of his hands.

Leave a Reply

