Ted

SG2016 Step 37

Ted’s face gives a perfect example of the three color zones I was talking about in the previous session. The forehead is more yellow, mid-face redder while the lower face and beard area is bluer.

SG2016 Step 38

It’s difficult to tell the exact color of Ted’s bright eyes from the reference photo. I think they are blue gray, I’ll go ahead and paint them that color. I can always change them later if necessary. Ted is going to take a few selfies so I can get his eyes right! I think I know where Alex got the impishness from; there seems to be a little bit of an imp in his dad!

SG2016 Step 39

Jack definitely DID NOT like to paint teeth, he always tried to get photos of his portrait subjects with no teeth showing. But he did a great job when he did paint them and taught me a few tips. It’s important to remember if you get them too light they pop out from under the lips, too dark and the teeth look dirty. I’ve first blocked in the entire tooth area with a soft gray made of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + White. Then the lighter highlight is added. Here is the biggest secret to painting teeth: DON’T try to delineate each individual tooth. Don’t attempt to make the lines between them. The person will look like they have a picket fence in their mouth. Along the lip where the lower edge of the teeth rest, slightly indicate the separation between each tooth. You can see this better if you will enlarge the picture, just click on the image.

SG2016 Step 40

Using the colors from the face, Ted’s hands are painted.

SG2016 Step 41

I’m going to dress Ted in a rusty red shirt. The color recipes are #1. MUD + Alizarin Crimson. #2. Alizarin Crimson + Cadmium Red Light. #3. A light and dark shade of Alizarin Crimson + Cadmium Red Light + White.

SG2016 Step 42

It’s wonderful to have good reference photos to work from, painting the folds in everyone’s clothing is so much easier.

SG2016 Step 43

Ted’s sport coat is made a gray mixed from various combinations of Ultramarine Blue + Cadmium Orange + MUD + White.

SG2016 Step 44

Three done and one to go! I’ll work on Jennifer in our next session, hope you’ll come watch. Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

4 Responses to “Ted”

  1. Phyllis Snyder Says:

    This is helping me so much. I’m working on my nieces face in the bridle portrait I’m doing of her. I’ve struggled with her face. Tomorrow I’m going to use your tips to help. Thank you so much!

  2. Thameur Says:

    Bravo et merci

  3. geminisinger Says:

    That was a great tip about teeth, Mikki. Thanks so much for sharing it with us! 🙂

  4. phyllis@santafeartcollector.com Says:

    Wow Mikki! You make these people live! You were certainly Jack’s star pupil! How are you really doing? I thought of you and prayed for Jehovah to be with you through the the day you had to go get his ashes. It s a shock to have so,done you love so dearly handed to you in a box. I know you are a strong person, you have survived many trials in your life but I’m always here for you if you need to talk. I’m so grateful you’ve had friends to be there for you. I have a box almost read to send. Il send you a tracking number. Wishing you a peaceful day, Love,Phyllis Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

