Silver Lace and Four Leaf Clover

SH2116 Step 28

The color of the rounded adobe structure on the right is warmer and richer than that of the other buildings so this one will appear to come forward. One of my readers asked why I wear gloves….it’s because the paint thinner dries my hands out. The skin around my fingernails splits into painful cracks, the gloves have been a perfect solution. I have to admit though, it took awhile to get used to them!

SH2116 Step 29

I stand on a step stool to paint the top edge of the gallery wrap canvas. While up there I block in the white flowers of the Silver Lace Vine cascading over the roof with mixtures in various proportions of White + Dioxazine Purple, White + Ultramarine Blue and White + Pthalo Blue.

SH2116 Step 31

Working wet-into-wet the foliage color is painted around the blossoms, helping to give them shape. The leaf mixes are combinations of Pthalo Blue + Cadmium Orange + White.

SH2116 Step 32

The icing on the cake is to highlight the long slender blossoms dancing in the sunlight with Pure White.

SH2116 Step 33

The beams and posts are a lovely lavender made of Dioxazine Purple + White. A four leaf clover design is carved into the curved corbel. My wrist is braced against the mahl stick to steady my hand as I delineate the motif. The leaves are actually little hearts! You can click on the image to see it larger.

SH2116 Step 34

“Moving right along” as Kermit the frog would say. It was one of Jack’s favorite expressions, he loved that little Kermit! Please remember, always feel free to ask questions. One of the main reasons I write the blog is to help fellow artists! I’m still getting wonderful emails from all over the world with stories of how Jack generously helped others. We can continue his legacy by freely sharing our knowledge and experiences! With lots of Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

8 Responses to “Silver Lace and Four Leaf Clover”

  1. bonita austin Says:

    Pretty nifty use of the walker!

  2. Patti Lynch Says:

    You are always a great inspiration! Thank you for doing this great blog!

  3. TheDailyPainter Says:

    Whoa babe! That’s one bright shirt. I gotta put on my sunglasses. 😉

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      You haven’t seen anything yet! I have a whole collection of BRIGHT Hawaiian shirts Jack has gotten for me over the years. This is one of the more subtle ones! Hugs, Mikki

  4. Shirley Says:

    I had the same problem with materials (even pastels) in the studio drying my hands and the fingertips cracking. One of my brothers recommended that I try a product and it works better and faster than anything else I’ve tried. It is O’Keefe’s Working Hands. I sometimes put it on my fingertips before putting on the gloves. You can go to okeefescompany dot com for more information. It is available at most drugstore/pharmacy stores. Hope it works for you.

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      LOVE Working Hands. In San Antonio Walgreens and Wal-Mart carry the lotion. It’s the absolute best product I’ve discovered for gardener’s and painter’s cracked hands! Thank you for mentioning this, it will help others. Hugs, Mikki

  5. Gonny Says:

    Hi Mikki,Got a question about the paint tubes , you use smaller ones ( at the side)and bigger ones Are they different brands? What is the reason between the different sizes?Big Hug Gonny

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Gonny,
      The paints are different brands, the smaller tubes are Grumbacher and Rembrandt Oil Paints. The large tubes are Winsor Newton WINTON Oil Paints, which are much cheaper than other brands and just as good. We’ve found over the years that Grumbacher’s Thalo Blue is a richer color than WINTON’s. So we use that on our palette. I use the Rembrandt colors Turquoise Blue and Severs Green a lot in my Southwestern Paintings.
      Hope this helps, Mikki

Leave a Reply

