Off to Canada

Tofino 5

All right….how many of you have heard of Tofino? That’s where we’re headed today. This commission features the quaint, little fishing village located on Vancouver Island in British Columbia, approximately 300 miles north of Seattle.

SH2216 Step 1

I’m using the photo at the top as a guide for the background of my sketch. We’ll have a terrace in the foreground with lots of rich, jewel tone flowers. As you read through my blog please remember, you can click on any of the images to see them larger.

SH2216 Step 2

After penciling in the horizon line about 1/3 of the way down the canvas, I begin drawing the table and chairs with a brush dipped in a thin oil wash made of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin. I start with these foreground elements because the placement of everything else in the composition is based on them. The reference photos for the chairs are on my laptop.

SH2216 Step 3

Now that the terrace and flowers are sketched up on the canvas I’ll move to the background mountains. The largest one is Meares Island.

SH2216 Step 4

I love all of the small islands in Browning Pass. The way they overlap will help give a feeling of depth to the painting. Next I come back to the foreground and draw in the trunks of the large fir trees at the edge of the terrace.

SH2216 Step 5

It wouldn’t be Tofino without BOATS! Lots of Sailboats, as well as fishing vessels, reside safely in the marina across from our terrace.

SH2216 Step 6

The wine bottle is washed in with Sap Green. Alizarin Crimson has been added to the lower portion to give the impression of wine still in the bottle. It is also used to indicate the wine in the glasses. I’m just covering the canvas at this stage, I’ll come back in a later session and paint the bottle and glasses.

SH2216 Step 7

The basic layout on the canvas is finished, it will serve as a road map to follow as I paint. Hope you’ll come watch! If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post you can subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

2016-8-21 Cat tail fern 1

I’m sure you’ve heard of Fox Tail Ferns. Well…..we have a Cat Tail Fern! That’s Molly going after a lizard, I just happened to glance out the studio window as she dove under the fern and got a quick shot before she disappeared into the mass of fronds. The little lizard must have escaped, she came out looking very disappointed! Thanks for following along today. Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

2 Responses to “Off to Canada”

  1. Peggy Black Says:

    This is going to be my favorite!

  2. Patti Says:

    Hello Mikki!

    My family and I visited Tofino in 2011 during a family reunion (we’re Canadian but spread out to SC and the Philippines); my eldest sister lives in Nanaimo, another beautiful town on the other side of Vancouver Island. I am excited about this painting!

    More importantly, my heart goes out to you on the loss of your husband. I have never met him but I am reading his book on “Mystery of Making It”. Not only do I LOVE this book, but I love learning how much he loved you! It is such a joy to get to know each of you ~ I LOVE your site and thank you for teaching us how to paint! Also, what warms my heart more than anything is the love of Jesus that comes through your site each time you talk about Jack. He is in a much better place! Amen!

Leave a Reply

