Feathery Firs and Rhododendrons

SH2216 Step 20

The paint on the trunks of the Fir Trees is applied with heavy brushstrokes, giving them a rough texture like bark. The shadow edge of the trunks is made bluer, giving them the appearance of roundness. You can enlarge the image to see this better, just click on the picture.

SH2216 Step 21

The feathery foliage is painted with mixes of Pthalo Blue + a little Ultramarine Blue + Cadmium Orange + White. For the branches that dip down on the opposite side of the trees I add Pthalo Blue + Cadmium Orange + White. This makes those needles a little cooler so they will drop back.

SH2216 Step 22

I’ve decided to remove the Rhododendron that was in back of the fence on the left side (you can CLICK HERE to see the original sketch). This way more water will be seen from the little bistro table and you’ll be able to hear it lapping on the rocks below the terrace. Just seems a bit more inviting. What do you think?

SH2216 Step 23

After the fence is finished I draw the portion of the heart on the chair back that’s in front of the log cross bar. It’s easier to do this while the paint is still fresh; making a smooth line would be difficult after the heavy brushwork has dried.

SH2216 Step 24

The flowers of the Rhododendron are blocked in with mixes in various proportions of Magenta + Permanent Rose + White and Permanent Rose + White. Rhododendrons are a northern shrub. Being a Southern girl I identify them with Azaleas which are fairly similar.

SH2216 Step 25

Working wet-into-wet the leaves are added around the blossom color. I use the green to help shape the pink flowers.

SH2216 Step 26

The Rhododendrons are done and the back of the chair on the right has been drawn in. I’ll finish the chairs completely when the background is painted behind them. Hope you’ve enjoyed watching today. Please feel free to ask any questions you may have. HUGS,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

 

8 Responses to “Feathery Firs and Rhododendrons”

  1. Shirley Says:

    I think your decision to reduce the Rhododendrons was a good one. I like seeing more of the lake!

  2. Peggy Black Says:

    love it!

  3. Martha Slater Says:

    Great decision about the rhodies on the left. Love this painting! Is there a reason you decided not to show the legs of the chairs?

  4. Janet Zeh Says:

    I love this painting – the colors and the way you’ve composed the scene are perfect! Of course… I’m a northern girl. So this one is my fav. Beautiful, Mikki.

  5. Vicki Watson Says:

    I love this painting, I feel I could walk and sit at the table.

  6. pierceclark Says:

    Just beautiful, Mikki!

    Yes, more water!

    Donna

    Donna Pierce-Clark http://www.donnapierceclark.com

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  7. Jane Small Says:

    I don’t know how you keep each painting so fresh, you work so hard Mikki. I love the lake water. Thank you

  8. ryankimba Says:

    Mikki,
    You are such an incredible talent. I have been following you and Jack for years now. Thank you for the advice a couple of years ago when you told me to switch to oil painting.

    http://www.ryankimbaart.com/

Leave a Reply

