Hot and Spicy!

SI2316 step 8

The double gates are painted with the same Cobalt Blue mixes as the windows. The darker shade is Cobalt Blue + a little bit of White. More White is added into the mix for the sunlit portion. I wasn’t completely sure of the door knocker in the original photo Marge took so I’ve made up my own! It ‘s drawn into the wet paint of the gate with a mix of MUD + Liquin. My wrist is braced against my mahl stick to steady my hand as I delineate the details. What is a mahl stick? CLICK HERE to find out.

SI2316 step 9

The part of the gates illuminated by the sun is painted with the lighter shade of Cobalt Blue.

SI2316 step 10

The color recipes for the Chili Peppers are shown above. #1. Alizarin Crimson + White. #2. Alizarin Crimson + Magenta + a touch of White. #3. Magenta + Liquin. #4. Alizarin Crimson + a tiny bit of White. #5. Magenta + a little Alizarin Crimson + White.

SI2316 step 11

Let’s get to the Hot and Spicy! Chili Ristras are found hanging everywhere throughout the Southwest. The underwash of Alizarin Crimson is dry so now I block in the individual peppers with thick brushstrokes. You can see this better if you’ll enlarge the image, just click on the picture.

SI2316 step 12

Highlights are added on the dried peppers with mixes #1 and #5.

SI2316 step 13

The window box is painted, completing our session for today. Notice on the wall, gates and window box, I’ve had to anticipate the shadows that will be cast by the overhanging Trumpet Vine, Hollyhocks and the Morning Glories. Much of painting is PLANNING AHEAD!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And since we’re in the Southwest today I thought I’d share a picture of Jack and I on Christmas 2006 in our Santa Fe Gallery! Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

 

 

 

 

 

6 Responses to “Hot and Spicy!”

  1. Soli Says:

    oh thank you, you guys looks so awesome! God bless

  2. bonita austin Says:

    Oh Mikki – I love that picture. So sad that he is gone. I think of you often.

  3. pierceclark Says:

    Mikki,

    I can’t explain it, but in this particular painting I see something new happening. There is a depth here that I haven’t seen in your paintings for a long time. Maybe never. You are seriously taking your time on this one, and paying attention to detail like I’ve never seen you do before. It is just beautiful. Everywhere I look on the canvas, I see such depth. Jack would be so proud of you. And, the photo you have at the end of this post, of you and Jack is one of the best I’ve ever seen of you two. And, you have hearts on your sweater! Just so precious! I think, if I were you, I’d have that hanging or sitting where I could see that photo every day. In fact, if I were you, I would use it as my profile photo. Because you are his best creation. Jack, from what I have read and heard him say of the two of you, taught you to paint in the manner you are painting now? His influence on you shines today! God bless you!

    Donna Pierce Clark Fine Art NEWSLETTER http://donnapierceclark.com/email-newsletter WEBSITE http://www.donnapierceclark.com

    FROM GLORY TO GLORY (2 Corinthians 3:18)

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Dear Donna, WOW! What a wonderful comment. AND YES, I do have that picture hanging so I can see it every day. Isn’t that a neat sweater, Jack surprised me with that one! I was doing a painting demo in the gallery, he slipped out and went to a shop down the street and got it for me! HAD TO PUT IT ON IMMEDIATELY!
      Another YES, Jack taught me to paint. I hear his voice in my ear as I paint, all of his little rules pop into my head as I need them. Thank you so much for your uplifting remarks. I so appreciate them. With Love, Mikki

  4. Andrea Holbrook Says:

    Like your treatment of the wood above the door. You captured the roughness. Lovely photo of you and Jack. You must miss him a lot.

  5. Mj springett Says:

    I love what you are doing, jim and i are planning a special place on our walls to hang this, know that you are missing jack, but yes he is in a better place, love mj

Leave a Reply

