Tile Design

SI2316 step 14

Trumpet Vine cascades over the rounded adobe wall. The rich blossoms are blocked in with mixes of Alizarin Crimson + White, Alizarin Crimson + Cadmium Red Light and Cadmium Red Light + Cadmium Orange.

SI2316 step 15

I let some of the vine show through the opening in the gate, this helps to increase the feeling of depth in the painting.

SI2316 step 16

Marge likes butterflies so I decided to have a design of one on a tile by the gate. The light and shadow pattern on the creamy white tile is painted first.

SI2316 step 16A

I pulled this picture of a bracelet out of a James Avery jewelry catalog years ago, it’s a great starting point for my design.

SI2316 step 17

The body and outline of the wings are drawn into the wet tile with a brush dipped in a mix of Magenta + Liquin.

SI2316 step 18

As you can see my final design is different from the one in the catalog. Thought it would be a fun touch to have a butterfly welcoming guests to our little Taos scene.

SI2316 step 20

More tile work! The entire surface of the walkway is first covered with the light and shadow pattern. The mixes are various combinations of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Cadmium Orange + White. A few brushstrokes of Cobalt Blue + White are made under the door to imply the tiles are a bit wet from a sudden afternoon shower. The sun is out again and the gate reflects down into the rain soaked pavers.

SI2316 step 21

The perspective lines of the irregular terra cotta pavers are pulled into the thick paint of the floor.

SI2316 step 22

Molly has decided to let me share (well, almost share) the taboret. The painting, mounted on cardboard, is placed with one side on my palette and the other on “Her” taboret. Notice she is making certain I don’t take up too much of “Her” room! So I continue the uneven paver floor onto the bottom edge of the canvas. You can enlarge the picture if you’d like to see it a little better, just click on the image.

SI2316 step 23

Someone asked when do I sign my paintings? I do it when the area where I’ve decided to put my signature is wet. It’s quite easy to make the lines of the cursive lettering smooth when working into fresh paint behind it. If I waited until the floor was drier it would be difficult to sign over the lumps and bumps of the textured surface. Thank you for following my blog. AND PLEASE, always feel free to ask questions. Hugs,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

http://www.senkarik.com

6 Responses to “Tile Design”

  1. Jerry Taylor Says:

    Miki, I was up very early this a.m. and as I viewed your post for today, I was reminded to pray for you and your endeavors now that Jack has passed. I asked God to fill the void Jack left behind and give you a joyous day in Jesus’ name and care.

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Dear Jerry, Thank you so, I really appreciate your prayers. You are right, “Today is the day the Lord hath made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it.” As Jack would say, “TODAY is a great day to have a GREAT day!” It comforts me to know Jack is in Heaven and Our Lord holds me close as he guides me in this new chapter in my life. With Love, Mikki

  2. Mj springett Says:

    I cannot ssay it better than jerry, love the painting, jim and i have a special place picked out for this, love and prayers for you also, hanks for all the special touches

  3. Janet Hagan Says:

    So sorry to learn of your loss! I love your paintings! My question is why do you wear gloves? Don’t they make your hands hot? Jan

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Hi Janet, Thank you for your condolences. The paint thinner dries out my hands so I’ve started wearing gloves. It took awhile to get used to them but they are much better than cracked fingers. I also use a lotion called “Working Hands” that is super. Hope this helps, Mikki

  4. Jeana Says:

    I love that Molly assists. Painting is turning out great as always!

Leave a Reply

