Colorful Captivation Limited Original

lo-1-49-colorful-captivation-step-1

I’m back at the easel today working on a Limited Original of Colorful Captivation. This is how the giclee on canvas looks when we receive it from our printer in Florida. It comes rolled in a tube. The overall tone of the unembellished giclee tends to be a little blue. Which is perfect, when I add the bright warm colors they will really be vivid!

lo-1-49-colorful-captivation-step-2

I’ve stretched the giclee on a gallery wrap stretcher frame. Then the sides are painted with black acrylic as a self frame. The edge is taped with blue painter’s tape so when I embellish the piece I don’t have to worry about getting paint on the sides of the canvas.

lo-1-49-colorful-captivation-step-3

Joy asked that I make the Southwest chair blue! That’s one of the neatest things about embellishing the giclees on canvas, I can make them different from the original painting! This is the reason we call them Limited Originals. Each is part of an edition (LIMITED) but none are embellished exactly the same way (ORIGINAL). I use various mixes of Pthalo Blue + White to make the change from yellow to blue.

lo-1-49-colorful-captivation-step-4

Some of the blue is brought down into the floor, giving the impression of the chair reflecting into the wet tiles underneath.

lo-1-49-colorful-captivation-step-5

My wrist is braced against the Mahl stick to steady my hand as I enhance the Hummingbirds dancing around the flowers.

lo-1-49-colorful-captivation-step-6

All of the flowers in this corner are repainted with lots of texture. Please remember as you read through my blog, you can enlarge any of the pictures by clicking on the image.

lo-1-49-colorful-captivation-step-7

The Petunias are embellished with mixes of Magenta + White. Then Alizarin Crimson is used to make the deep centers.

lo-1-49-colorful-captivation-step-8

Pure White highlights applied in thick brushstrokes make the Matilija Poppies POP against the Cadmium Red Light gate.

lo-1-49-colorful-captivation-step-9

The wispy flowers of the Wisteria are embellished with mixes of Dioxazine Purple + White, Ultramarine Blue + White and Dioxazine Purple + Ultramarine Blue + White.

lo-1-49-colorful-captivation-step-10

I’ve pulled the tape off the frame, now you can see how it looks. The framed piece measures 30 inches tall by 36 inches wide.

lo-1-49-colorful-captivation-30x36

Our Limited Original of Colorful Captivation is complete. I’ll wait a few days for it to dry completely and then FedEX will come whisk it away to its new home.

2016-9-18-two-drunk-kitties

Oh My Goodness Gracious, I just looked out the window. I bought some Cat Nip yesterday and am going to put it in a planter by the fountain in the morning. Looks like Molly and Sissie discovered it and have taken a few too many nips. I have TWO DRUNK KITTIES! I swear I can hear Jack’s laughter from Heaven. He could see the planter (in the background to the right of the fountain) that I put the Cat Nip in from his computer. He so enjoyed watching our girls, plus all of the kitties from the “hood”, come partake!

With GIANT HUGS,

Mikki Senkarik signature JPEG

2 Responses to “Colorful Captivation Limited Original”

  1. kirby jonas Says:

    I so want to buy one of these, Mikki!!!

  2. Susan Helen Strok Says:

    Love the blue chair!

Leave a Reply

