Heading to Italy……

sd1216-breakfast-for-two-24x30

One of my collectors saw this piece on my blog and asked me about painting something similar for her. She’d see an oil painting years before with the filtered light on a patio and didn’t purchase it. She’s regretting not buying that piece and so now I’m going to do one especially for her. Cathy’s main focus is the light dancing on the pavers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cathy also likes the water and reflections of Portofino in the painting above, so we’re going to put them in the background sans the boats.

si2616-step-1

Here is my sketch…….

si2616-step-2

I begin by drawing up the basic architecture of the shutters and columns. A brush dipped in a thin oil wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin is used. The 30 inch tall by 36 inch wide canvas is mounted on a larger piece of double ply cardboard, making it easier to handle the wet painting. If you like to see how the canvas was mounted to the backing on a similar piece CLICK HERE.

si2616-step-3

Cathy decided she would like wrought iron chairs instead of the wicker ones in the original. The hearts in the backs of the chairs add a little romance! If you’d like to see this or any of the other images enlarged, just CLICK on the picture.

si2616-step-4

Drawing Portofino in the background completes our sketch. We’ll begin applying color in the next session. If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

2 Responses to “Heading to Italy……”

  1. Patricia Ann Says:

    Each time I look at one of your paintings I feel like I am walking into a dream world; it is so beautiful! I wish I knew how you can make your lines so straight. I am forever trying to keep my hand steady. I especially admire the lines you put in some of the doors. It literally blows my mind. Thank you for the beauty you create! May God Bless.

  2. Mike Mannis Says:

    Aww I liked the boats! Lol. Great story and commission cool to see its progress I’ll be waiting for your next post.

Leave a Reply

