Yellow Walls and Crisp White Shutters

si2616-step-13

The walls are painted with mixes in various proportions of Cadmium Yellow Medium + MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + a little Cadmium Orange + White. You can see how the painted image extends on to the sides of the gallery wrap canvas. And that having the canvas attached to cardboard will make it easier to handle the wet painting.

si2616-step-14

Now the wall is painted I come back and finish the Bougainvillea draping down. I love the Hot Pink Bogie juxtaposed against the yellow wall. Please remember, you may enlarge any of the images by clicking on the picture.

si2616-step-15

The light and shadow pattern is established on the tall shutters first. Then I come back and delineate the louvers, drawing them into the wet paint. You can see how the hook of my mahl stick rests over the top of the cardboard backing. I can then brace my wrist against the stick to steady my hand as I indicate the details.

si2616-step-16

The azure water in the distance gleams through the openings between the balusters of the terrace railing.

si2616-step-17

Large terra cotta containers are added to the terrace. We’ll plant all the goodies in them later because we’ll be laying the tile flooring in our next session. Hope you’ll come watch. Hugs,

4 Responses to “Yellow Walls and Crisp White Shutters”

  1. Peggy Black Says:

    beautiful

  2. Martha Slater Says:

    I look forward to your post every day and wish I could “Paint-along”. I’m very grateful for what I’m learning from watching you. Thank you for your generosity in sharing your expertise.

  3. Lynne Wesolowski Says:

    Just gorgeous, Mikki — you are amazing. My artwork is abstract-mixed media, but I Love to see your work and look every day … thanks so much!

  4. Patricia Ann Says:

    You always manage to blow my mind! I admire your work so very much Can’t wait to see what comes next… I really appreciate all the explanations (painting wet on wet) which most artists would leave out and leave us “wana be” artists struggling to understand why our paintings don’t look right. Thank You! May God Bless.

Leave a Reply

