Sarza and Adobe

sj2816-step-2

The basic structure is first sketched, then I begin washing in the fall leaves of the Sarza with Alizarin Crimson + Liquin and Sap Green + Liquin. These washes will give the foliage luminosity. I’ll come back later and work more on the Sarza but for now we’ll move on.

sj2816-step-3

Sketching continues with all of the flower pots. I use a thin wash of MUD (Ultramarine Blue + Alizarin Crimson) + Liquin to establish their general shapes.

sj2816-step-4

The sketch on the canvas is complete, it will serve as my “Road Map” as I begin applying opaque oil paint.

sj2816-step-5

Next we start constructing the building. Mixes of Cadmium Orange + Ultramarine Blue + MUD + White are used for the distinct Santa Fe adobe structure. A few strokes of Ultramarine Blue + White are made along the back edge of the door jamb so it will recede.

sj2816-step-6

The door is painted with two shades of Pthalo Blue + a little Cadmium Orange + White. My wrist is braced against the mahl stick to steady my hand as I delineate the door hardware. Notice how the mahl stick hooks over the top of my easel.

sj2816-step-7

The window and shutters are painted with the same mixtures as used on the door. It’s fun making up the shadows of the objects casting them.

sj2816-step-8

A large Bright (Square) brush is used to shape the roof tiles. To learn more about the brushes I like to use CLICK HERE.

sj2816-step-9

I’ll come back and add the zigzag bracing on the shutters. At this point the chili ristra is just washed in with Alizarin Crimson, I will sculpt the peppers with thick, opaque paint in another session. Thank you for following along. If you would like to receive an email every time I publish a new post please feel free to subscribe to my blog. CLICK THIS LINK and scroll to the upper right side of the page. You will see a heading EMAIL SUBSCRIPTIONS. Just enter your email address and click the button “Sign me up!”  It’s easy. And if you enjoy my blog please CLICK the FaceBook LIKE Button. As we say in Texas, “Much Obliged!

 

4 Responses to “Sarza and Adobe”

  1. Lynette Landry Says:

    Thanks for generously sharing your awesome talent.  I have all of Jack’s art books.  I just love his writing style in them:  it is as though he is talking to you. My deepest condolences in your loss.  What an awesome legacy he left us all. He shared himself freely with everyone.  His books are so honestly written. And your painting is fabulous!!!  Your style is so all your own!  Love watching your progress on new commissions!  How I would love to stand behind you and watch your brush work. Keep up the awesome work. Fledgling artists like me need to witness perfection!!Thanks for sharing and God bless you,

    Admiring your work, Lynette Landry

    • Mikki Senkarik Says:

      Lynette, Thank you for your kind words and also for following my blog. I plan to continue Jack’s legacy of helping fellow artists so please feel free to ask any question you might have. I try to give the basic concepts and rules of painting, then each artist can develop their own voice. Hugs, Mikki

  2. Angelica Valentine Says:

    This is gorgeous!..I can feel myself sitting outside on this cozy veranda soaking up the sun.

  3. Hilda Thurman Says:

    I look forward to opening up each email from you with your bold beautiful art work in progress. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

